Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ballston Spa Senior High School

Public | 9-12 | 1350 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

Good academic programs, but hard to stay on a good path with tvery poor guidance. Most of the guidece counselors dont know how to do their job. Some years classes alternate and get dropped every other year. The counselors dont tell the students, they have to find out by themselves. The counselors are only put together students schedules, and some how some students schedules get messed up every year and they are forced to take classes they dont want. The administration is also very poor within this school. Their way of handling issues is with suspension. I dont have a problem with that, but if kids are getting suspended for playing games on computers, thats ridiculous. Colleges see the suspension and it looks bad, sometimes they dont look for the reason. They see it, and move on to their next applicant. They need to find other forms of discipline for small problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2014

I have been in this district for several years now. The school runs every Common Core pilot program that NYSED throws at it. Politicians & NYSED Commissioner John King walks the halls here too. The High school is running the pilot program for the Common Core English/Math in the Early College / H.S. Smart Tec program in the 11th/12th grades and intends to start the program in 9th grade in 2015. They have a robust technology dept by the means of RttT funding that this school district always seems to "win" from NYSED and the Governor. The High School environment is very rough with a wide range of kids that are bullied. The Demographics of this district is the high rate of kids that live in the poverty to others that live in relative wealth. Many of the kids that come from good families are "sucked in" by many bad influences that permeate the middle and high school. I will say that the high school principal is not warm and is not liked by parents, kids and the H.S. Staff. The teachers and counselors are great, but the leadership lacks and does not listen to the concerns of parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

BSHS is a great school. We have more programs than most area schools. We are the only IB World school in the Suburban Council. Most of the teachers here are really good. The administration and guidance department are excellent. I am proud to be a Scottie.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2013

This school is not perfect, no high school in America is. Well, not yet anyway. Sure, it does have great acedemic and technolgy programs that if offers, and it does also have the new International Bacchelorate which is the only one in the suburban council! But like i said, it's not perfect. It may not have the best sports teams, which could be improved, but what I'm more focused on is the attitude the students, like me also, have about this school. A lot of them are throwing away their education because of the management of this school. It is very overpopulated and that probelm needs to be fixed. It just needs "polishing up" they need to fix the dress code a little bit, seriously, it's like a strip club...especially the older kids. They also need to have a bit more of an eye on the "punks" as I call them, not only will this reduce potential future criminal rates, but it will give them a better view of the school. They also need a "Bully Box." Kids write down who's bully them and how on a paper and put it into a box in a secluded place like guidance or something. I may only be a freshman, but like I said, it's not bad, just has room for improvement. Notice...3 stars. I am..."The Z"
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2013

No school in a several county area offers more choice. The curricular options at BSHS are unparalleled: the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (BSpa is the only school in the suburban council with it), TEC-Smart (through which students come close to earning an associate's degree by the age of 18), both a biomedical strand and a technology strand through Project Lead the Way, more electives than most schools twice its size, ... Our children benefit greatly from the supportive teachers, counselors, and administrators. We chose this district and never have regretted the decision. -would move here again!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

I'm not going to argue that this school doesn't have good (even excellent) programs and opportunities, because it does. I am however going to argue about the limited staff support for children that need it and I do have a serious issue with the amount of bullying that goes on. It is a VERY difficult school to acclimate a child into from a different district having little or NO assitance in doing so and credits do not transfer as they should. In addition, I think the limited parental support is obvious because it shows with the behavioral issues with many of the students. Blame the school? On a certain level yes I do. The dress code not being inforced simply digusts me every day that I drop my children off. If you don't want your children exposed to a strip club, then enroll them elsewhere because it is absolutley rediculous! We moved to this district based on specific criteria, test scores, awards, ect... I now know that there are hidden issues within every school, even the perfect ones. I am glad we opted NOT to purchase a home here and we will be looking into other districts (or private schools) very soon as a result. It is a shame that you can't go by everything you read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

This school has just started an international Baccalaurete program and was also names as a top HS by US news as well. Great job BSCSD! Keep it up
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

This High School is poor. It is not diverse in its ethnicity or its approach towards it. The administration is rude and very unprofessional. The teachers are great, just don t let your child get into any kind of problem there big or small because your child will carry that label with them for the whole duration of their high school years. This school is bias and in my opinion the NY State Board of Education should take a better look at it. The school is over populated, they suspend students left and right. Their way of taking care of the population. Students have to be academically postive as well. That s not the case here with BSHS, Trust ME! If your child falls behind they will help at first, after that they want to swing the door open and try persuading ideas about GED and we will help you get into college courses, right in front of your child. Your child that already feels that they cant succeed now feels they wont! They don t want their scores to be low NO CHILD LEFT BEHIND ACT hitting two birds with one stone (over populated, test scores)! I am not the only parent that feel this way! My other children will not attend Ballston Spa HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I now have 2 boys in the high school and I will say, I haven't been disappointed yet. the guidance dept. is fantastic as are the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2010

Ballston Spa is a nice school, nice kids and the teachers are hard working and dedicated. The principal is not very fair, and she isn't visible enough. She plays favorites with students and with teachers, which isn't very professional. The entire admin. needs to reevalute their discipline procedures, and help teachers more with strategies on some of the tougher kids. Other than that, it is a good place to work. I do believe that the students are receiving a good education, and preparation for college.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 7, 2010

Love the high school ! My son started school in Ballston spa great teachers who help and listen to you and the child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

All of my children have attended Ballston Spa Schools. I find the school system to be a wonderful place for them to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2007

From a students point of view. I personally don't think teachers are doing their best. The classes are way to packed and the principal doesn't 'run' the school like most other schools.BSHS is like politics if you get in trouble with one administrative person you aren't liked by any administrative person there. I think BSHS could improve so much more. There is allot of potential in this school but no one works with it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2007

Although I must say I am happy with the safety and discipline as a whole, I think that the school needs to look at each situation individually as every child that has a conflict w/another student is not necessarily a delinquent. Academically there is an abundance of possibilities not to mention the vast array of sports programs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2006

School is not diverse in its ethnicity or in it approach towards ethnicity. If you are looking for a predominatly white christian school - this is the place for you.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted April 23, 2005

I think that it is a great school with many opportunities in school and out of school. There are many academic and athletic options.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

This district and facilities are fantastic. I graduated from here in 1989 and went on to Siena College. I was very prepared to handle college life and academics. I still live in the district and get offers from prospective buyers daily. Many people would love to move into the district so their kids could attend these schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

I'm a student here, and I have many friends from other school districts. Our school is a great size, and for our size we have many diverse programs for students to partake in. Also, there are many different courses to take in school, and many strong departments within the school. The only suggestion I can make is to add maybe another language such as german, russian or latin. All in all, the opportunities and experiences are truly up to the student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2004

My child has attended this district from 1st grade. I would not move out of this district as I feel it is a wonderful and nuturing environment for her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2003

I currently have my second child in the school district, the first having graduated in 2001 and gone onto RPI. The school program has vastly improved over the years, though I would agree that special ed services are withheld or downplayed. Counseling dept is very weak, tech dept and science very good. English and soc studies highly rated, as is math and computer science. Overall, Principal is not effective, but school ranks high in my opinion. I had two older children in Shendehowa. I like BSHS better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

213 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

296 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

351 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

80 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
72%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
94%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

150 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students79%
Female76%
Male83%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%

Chemistry

All Students84%
Female81%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%

Earth Science

All Students80%
Female77%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities29%
General population84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%

English

All Students87%
Female90%
Male84%
African American77%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities43%
General population93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

Geometry

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%

Global History and Geography

All Students80%
Female78%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities29%
General population86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%

Integrated Algebra

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities40%
General population88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%

Living Environment

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities44%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

Physics

All Students95%
Female95%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant95%

U.S. History and Government

All Students92%
Female90%
Male93%
African American92%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities63%
General population96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 96% 48%
Black 2 2% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Hispanic 2 0% 23%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 0%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 220%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 24%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. KRISTI JENSEN

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

220 Ballston Ave
Ballston Spa, NY 12020
Phone: (518) 884-7150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Saratoga Springs High School
Saratoga Springs, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT