Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Spa Christian School

Private | PK-6 | 70 students

We are best known for Christ-centered foundation.

 
 

Living in Ballston Spa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $199,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $910.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2014

I have never been in a school like Spa. The moment you enter the building you can feel God's Spirit. Biblical integration happens within every subject, which is important as children build their worldview. The teachers, parents, and children are like a family, helping with one another's struggles as well as rejoicing with the successes. The children are encouraged to build their academic knowledge as well as their godly character. I HIGHLY recommend this school to anyone with a preschool or elementary aged child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 11, 2014

Our kids have attended this school for 4 year old preschool, K and 1st grade so far. Their spiritual growth is amazing. Both children are eager to learn and love school. They are doing well academically without feeling stressed or dreading school. If you are seeking Christian education with teachers that truly care for each student, Spa will not disappoint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

My daughter has attended this school for the past six years. I'm very pleased with the school. The teachers are great and really care for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

A wonderful school for elementary children to incorporate the Word of God into all that they do. It is a loving, nurturing environment that offers strong academics as well. Lays a great foundation for a young Christian person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2011

Spa Christian School is a great place to get a solid academic foundation in a Christ-centered environment. Sending our kids to Spa Christian School was one of the best decisions we've made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

Our three kids attended this school for 5 years. Because of the spiritual, character and academic training they received at Spa Christian we were able to homeschool very successfully for four years. Now they're in public high school and middle school and doing very well! We will always miss Spa Christian. It's just one of those small schools that create amazing memories. No school is perfect, but this one is pretty close.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

We have three kids in the school and could not be happier with it. For us, we wanted both a strong Christian environment and solid academics. Spa Christain absolutely has both!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

My three kids currently attend Spa, and we couldn't be happier. Academically challenging, warm and friendly, and definitely Christ-centered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Awesome! My three kids attended this school until we moved out of state. Our oldest graduated from here. We found this school to be a wonderful place, where things like christian character, respect, and values that we taught our kids at home were reinforced. The school is blessed with caring, committed, and qualified teachers. Parent involvement is encouraged and welcomed. There is a community feeling among the kids, teachers, and parents there. The education is above average and taught with a biblical perspective. The school strives to assist each child develop to his full potential. They have a super music/drama program for elementary school and an expansive art program for this size school. I miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

A very good school with a solid Christian education. The classes are small, my child is in a class of 15 and the teachers are caring. There is not much in the way of extracurricular activities and the school only goes to sixth grade. After that, it's either public, homeschool, Catholic or driving them quite a ways to another Christian school. The only down side is that some parents who have had children there for a while seem to clique together.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 52%
Hispanic 10% 21%
Black 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Laureen Slater
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (518) 885-0508

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
More from this school
  • We have become the school of choice for Christian families seeking a solid educational foundation with a Biblical Worldview centered in Christ. Through a carefully designed educational plan that includes small classes, comprehensive curriculum, challenging and engaging activities, and dedicated faculty, Spa Christian provides students with an educational setting that encourages each to reach his or her academic potential.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Mekeel Christian Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

206 Greenfield Avenue
Ballston Spa, NY 12020
Website: Click here
Phone: (518) 885-0508

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Mary S School
Ballston Spa, NY






Geyser Road Elementary School
Saratoga Springs, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT