Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a community member
Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake is a fabulous school district in a great family-centered community. Both of my children attended there and graduated from the BH-BL high school, and I was involved in many committees, attended school board meetings, PTA functions, you name it. Both parents and staff have high standards for their children's behavior and high academic expectations too. The high school gets exceptional sports results, and exceptional academic results too. I especially like the way that all types of kids are supported -- electives & activities for kids of all interests, not just for nerds & jocks. This has to be a reason why the school has such a low dropout rate. High school size is ideal too -- big enough to offer many electives but small enough that students are all known, not lost in the crowd.

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 1

Posted March 29, 2013
- a parent
This school district is known for the athletics and the athletes are favored as a result. This district has a problem with bullying, and drugs, just like any other school district. The high school is full of cliques and snobs and yes, some of the faculty is just as guilty of it. It's been very disappointing.


Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
This school is tops, tops, tops. Honestly, beats the pants off any private school I've ever seen. I honestly don't know where to start. Son goes to Pashley. The teachers are there for you and the kids. A kind, gifted staff that brings humanity to the classroom. Could not have handpicked a better team myself.

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted April 23, 2012
- a parent
I am thrilled with this school district. We moved our 2 children from a blue ribbon school district on Long Island to this school district. Their attention to each student and to the whole student - not just one facet (ie: sports) is wonderful. Their attention to bullying and their MANY anti-bullying programs are out of this world. They are well above the state's recommended anti-bullying training and programs. So happy we are here.

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a parent
They are very friendly and have great moral and excellent sports teams


Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted June 05, 2007
- a parent
Outstanding district. Greatest strength is size both in class and grade. Graduates around 300-350 kids and offers all the activities and sports of any big school. Our children have lived the big school (650-800 per grade) life in NC, Long Island, PA and Northern VA. Burnt Hills - Ballston Lake School District, with its three elementary schools really gives you a small town feel. The faculty and staff are highly trained, educated and seem happy. That's a plus. Next strength is school spirit. They are the Spartans and maroon and white is warn with much pride. Really makes for fun events. Possible weakness is lack of diversity. Overall, this is a superior institution and enjoys our highest confidence.

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted May 28, 2007
- a student
I do not agree that bullying is more of a problem in Burnt Hills than in other districts. I graduated from Burnt Hills in 2004, and although there are cliques, I would challenge anyone to find a High School without cliques. Burnt Hills is a great district that sets its graduates up to excel in college and outside of school, I have very fond memories of the educators there! I also found the administration to be very helpful and easy to work with, should any issues arise. Some very talented artists and musicians have come out of the district, and the athletic depts are high ranking in the state. I can't speak for parental involvement but I can't see why it would be a problem for parents that want to be involved to do so. Go BH!

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 1

Posted August 24, 2006
- a student
This school was the reason my entire family moved out of this school district. The way the school handled bullying was incomprehensible and irresponsible. I think, the Burnt Hills teachers and school are far overrated. If you want your children going to school with a lot of snobs and clique children and like minded teachers, send them here. Ostracization is a common practice with teachers, administrators and kids I purposely have my three children in another district and feel good about keeping them out of a district like this one.


Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted July 05, 2006
- a student
In academics placed 3rd in the state.

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School 5

Posted December 09, 2005
- a student
Burnt Hills is wonderful. There are several advanced programs and the teachers are well educated.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School
88 Lakehill Road, Ballston, NY  12027
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (518) 399-9141
Last modified Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top