Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Bay Shore, NY
Students enrolled: 1,872

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bay Shore Senior High School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a community member
This school is great i am a student that attends there and the school give you so many opportunities !! There is so much to do in the school tons of clubs and activities and classes. It is also secure and safe .

Bay Shore Senior High School 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a student
Graduated from BSHS and went off to Seton Hall University, I loved the school for the diversity as well as the sports programs. The Ap & Ib learning system prepare students for college success, I graduated with kids who went to Harvard, Cornell, Brown and Yale... This is something many kids I tell at Seton Hall are astonished by. Very happy that I was able to attend BSHS.


Bay Shore Senior High School 5

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
One daughter is a graduate attending Villanova University and the second will graduate this year--having been accepted so far to some great colleges. The BS girl's athletics program is top notch--a top track and cross country team for 28 years, a softball team with more State championships than any other and County finalists in lax and field hockey almost every year. My daughters' development into well rounded young women has been the hallmark of their BS educations. IB courses, ethnic pen conferences, peer support, etc. Don't think that diversity is something to avoid. Some of Suffolk's wealthiest and most prominent families send their kids to BS. But they never look down on anyone. The kids get along beautifully. The Code of conduct is very strict--the kids who get into trouble wind up in the local private high schools. And I can't say enough good things about Mr Pashkin who always goes beyond the call and knows every kid by name.

Bay Shore Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted November 03, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a senior at Bayshore High School. I like the fact that they really care about your child and you know every move your son or daugther makes. You can even go on-line and check their attendace

Bay Shore Senior High School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
Diverse & Tolerant - well rounded education!!!


Bay Shore Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
It has a diverse ( ethnically, racially, economically, religiously) student body ( this is rare in this country) , amazing teachers, an nationally recognized writers workshop ( Ethnic Pen) and a student paper and literary magazine that is national recognized every year!

Bay Shore Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Great faculty, wonderful programs, diversity.

Bay Shore Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
the wonderful faculty at bay shore high school is the only reason i graduted from high school at all. i had been through two other high schools and would have dropped out if it hadn't been for BSHS. besides that, it is one of the only really diverse high schools on Long Island, with some of the best class choises.


Bay Shore Senior High School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
Absolutely a top of the line school. The teachers, for the most part, are engaging and friendly, and seem to truly invest themselves in the successes of their students. The level of school spirit seems to vary from year to year, and mostly depends on the class, although there are years when the entire school can be swept up in school/class spirit.

Bay Shore Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 08, 2008
- a parent
Excellent new principal this year. He is working hard on parent engagement and increased student success. Introducing IB next year and the district has increased the guidance department so that freshman & their parents have a face to face planning session for the HS years ahead!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bay Shore Senior High School
155 Third Avenue, Bay Shore, NY  11706
(631) 968-1156
Last modified Bay Shore Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bay Shore Senior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top