Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mary G Clarkson School

Public | K-2 | 500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 27, 2010

My children are in kinder and scond grades at Mary G. Their programs are amazing! the kids have physical education daily! my second grader has music twice a week (which he LOVES) and art once a week for 50min and they do amazing projects. Everyone in the school from front office to cafeteria staff are kind people and you know and feel that they have the childrens best intrest at heart!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

As an elementary teacher myself in another district, I am beyond thrilled with Mary G. as my children's elementary school. Top notch in every way...teachers, administration, parent organization and support staff work togehter to ensure quality for all students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

MGC is really a good school. If you clearly express your wants and needs (in writing I recommend) for your child they will listen and respond. My only gripe if that they do not have enough programs for children that are advanced. There are TONS of support for kids that are behind (as there should be) but not much addressing the needs of kids that are unchallenged academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

As an African American mother of a gifted child, I have been pleased with the diversity, extracurricular activities, and parent involvement at MGC. The staff has been very responsive to my child's needs. The only shortcoming at this school is that there are no men of color on its teaching staff or in administration and there are only 3 black female teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

Mary G. Calrkson school is a great place for children to grow both academically and socially. The parent involvement is spectacular. THe extracuricular activities are not could be improved but are still great. THe academic programs are simply great for the young mind. it will be chellenged but it will understand how things work and will be ready to move on to Gardiner Manor and South country schools. to wrap it up Bay shore school district, to me are the best school districts for any parent who wants the ir child to learn and have fun while learning.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 16, 2005

My son has a learning disability and is under section 504. The teachers, principal, and school psycologist were extremely supportive, and informative. They provided me guidance to help my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

very pleased with the academic, social and cultural aspects of this school. The diversity has proved to be both an asset to my children as well as sometimes being detrimental and distracting.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 39% 23%
White 1 36% 48%
Black 2 18% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 5% 9%
Two or more races 2 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 163%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 50%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LETICIA GARCIA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1415 E 3rd Ave
Bay Shore, NY 11706
Phone: (631) 968-1204

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Fifth Avenue School
Bay Shore, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT