Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 41 Crocheron

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 512 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2012

PS41 has a warm and nurturing atmosphere that truly puts children first. I was surprised to find such a place within the huge NYC school system, but this is a school with a small-town feel. Parents are very involved, and welcome. Mrs. Latto runs a tight ship, the kids are well behaved, and most importantly they learn. As in any school, some teachers don't click with some kids - my daughter had one in particular that just wasn't a good fit for her. We all worked harder that year, but I always felt we had the support of the principal and we had reinforcement from the reading teacher. The most important things are that the children are safe, supported, and a priority for everyone. The PTA is dedicated and highly involved - there are always petty complaints from those who are not that involved, but they are just that, petty. This is a great school in an age when great schools are kind of hard to come by.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

I feel that the school has changed greatly,, there are new teachers replacing the old teachers!! And of course once our kids get use to the new teacher, they go out on maternity leave!! There is no stability anymore. Kids need stability.. And let's not start on the PTA!!! Horrible they think they control the school and tell everyone what they need to do. They seem to be only nice to you when they need help!! Let's get something straight... All you PTA crazies get a life ...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

PS 41Q is a fantastic school. The principal, Mrs. Latto is committed to making the school one of the city's best. The teachers and staff are all very dedicated and have a lot of integrity. The school offers many programs to enrich the curriculum. The Parent Coordinator, Mary Bow, is a ray of sunshine who keeps parents connected and school spirit high. The PTA does so much and organizes a lot of evening events so working parents can be involved. It is a wonderful school for children of all abilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2010

Overall PS41 is a good environment for my children. I rate the Teacher quality with a two for this year because I feel the teachers could have put more effort in helping my children progress in their learning. In past years I would rate the teacher quality with 4 stars because those teachers have provided quality teaching for my children. The PTA is very involved in the school and provide many great events for the PS41 community. Mrs. Bow, our parent coordinator, works very hard at making PS41 a great place to be a kid. Mrs. Latto's leadership as Principal certainly makes the school function at a high quality.


Posted June 29, 2010

Hello I was a student here at PQ 41Q and I found it to be THE WORST posable school ever The Guidance Counseler Named "Bob" was a verry cruel and mean person the FIFTH grade teacher Joe Was a mean person and a horrible teacher who punished me deeply and made me cry every day.. the psycholgest said that I DID NOT have this learning disorder BUT I did and HE RUINED MY LIFE I am 12 now and I have had horrible days and the worst posable experiance at PQ41Q and I DO NOT suggest this school for anyone in their right mind. oh and the psycholgest is something atless Sincerly - Matthew Ach


Posted June 25, 2010

While Mrs. Latto is a great principal with great vision. I am disappointed in the teachers. My daughter started at PS 41 with great kindergarten and first grade teachers. Second grade was a bit trying as we had a first year classroom teacher but it did get better. Third grade was a nightmare from day one. My daughter did not click with her teacher and it was a battle each and every day. One thing I did find at PS 41 is if you were not part of the PTA clique you didn't fit in. I actually found the PTA to be unorganized withlittle notice of meetings. Also if I volunteered for something they contacted me the day before with no time to rearrange my schedule. I gave up after the 1st grade. Well on to 4th grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Best mix of committed teachers, involved parents, PTA, school spirit, programs, neighborhood feel & values, etc....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

PS 41 represents what the standard of excellence should be for schools across our nation. Principal Latto's mission includes developing each child to their fullest potential in all dimensions. From the diverse CIA program, which allow teachers and students to explore new and different areas of interest, to the intense preparation for exams, to the expansive extra curricular options, and including the amazing theatrical arts program that evey child particpates in, this school has exceeded every expectation I have had. Mrs. Mary Bow, the parent coordinator, shares her heart with every family, everyday. I am at ease knowing that she is there helping to make the school as wonderful as it is. Every teacher that I have had the pleasure to know, including the amazing music, art and science teachers, inspire both my child and myself. The PTA brings it all together, uniting the school as a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

Pricipal Latto is a truly dedicated, fully intergrated leader who fosters the right balance of academic excellence, strong discipline and achieving dynamic skill sets for the young students. The teachers and staff are compassionate and go well beyond the expectations of a public school. The energetic atmosphere in the class rooms as well as extracurricular programs naturally promote independent learning and good interpersonal skills. If you have high aspirations for your children and believe in strong work/play ethics, this school will be a good fit for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I have a 2nd grader in the school and will only give the school another year. I am disappointed with the quality of the teachers. They seem bored, uninterested and disconnected from the students. There is no sense of responsibility by them. The principal and PTA are amazing and have really made an impact on the status of the school but without any positive contribution from their teaching staff --the school will begin to decline. These are the most important academic years of any child's life without enthusiasm or motivation from the teachers the children will fail. It takes a village.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2008

I love this school. As a child my sister and I went to this school and loved it. Now my son goes there and recently they got one of the only two schools in queens blue ribbon award. ITs a great school great enviroment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2006

I am delighted to say my son is in 1st grade and he is being taught by teachers who are very involved in him succeeding. They will tell you any help your child may need or how your child has progressed. The principal is very involved, and it appears as though she has to sign off on everything. The school is very safe and has many class trips and the PTA is always working on a new project. Mary Bow is an unparalleled parent coordinator,she is very informative, the faculty definitely give it their all. Happily we are moving to Long Island however the transition to a new school I am hoping will be the same as when our child began P.S. 41.- Nicole T.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2006

I was thoroughly impressed with the school. The class sizes are small and both the teachers and the parents have made it a wonderful experience for my daughter. It is more like a private school without the cost. There are always workshops and various enrichment programs offered. The P.T.A welcomes new members and encourages parent involvement. I could not say enough good things about the school. The principal is very involved and cares greatly about her school and that certainly trickles down.I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

PS 41 possesses an intimate, almost 'small-town' atmosphere within its classrooms and parent involvement. The principal is especially warm and accessible -- from having an open-door policy for all parents to greeting each child by name as they walk up the stairs to the main entrance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
75%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

94 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 45% 9%
White 2 38% 48%
Hispanic 1 15% 23%
Black 2 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 232%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 8%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 61%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 325 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents29270%
Teachers33100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

214-43 35th Ave
Bayside, NY 11361
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 423-8333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 46 Alley Pond
Bayside, NY



P.S. 130
Bayside, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT