Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 203 Oakland Gardens

Public | PK-5 | 753 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 1, 2013

PS 203 is definitely one of the best schools in district 26. I moved here from Staten Island and I know I have made the right choice. My daughter just spent her first year at PS 203 as a kindergardener, she totally loves everything of it. I have seen tremendous progresses and improvments since she started school. From not knowing the language, reading or writing to now a regular reader who can read advance books and write her own composition, novel, etc. For Math, the class didn't just teach her the basic, but also teached finance courses so they can learn how to use and save money. That was awesome. Take acadamic aside, my daughter just loves being in class with her classmates and loved the teachers. This is the most important because i want my child to be happy in school and enjoys learning, period. I can see that overall, kids in PS 203 share commom goals, they love to play and learn together, thats the atmospheres/ enviornments that PS 203/ its students & parents created. Its a team efforts, PS 203 rocks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

As a parent at PS 203, I am convinced this is the best school in NYC. I understand that some parents are frustrated with the school s culture of high academic expectations especially if their dc needs extra help. There is no peanut buttering of kids here. However, in an increasing competitive global economy, it s absolutely right for the administration and faculty to set the bar very high. The school s PTA works hard to reinforce this philosophy of excellence. If the price is for me to work an extra hour a week to provide my child with five extra pencils that he may or may not need, so be it. If you don t buy into the school s rigorous focus or believe elementary school is too early for such scholarly focus, then, this is not the right school you. Frankly, no school in this district is right for you. No school is right for every child and family. You re not obligated to buy a house in Bayside Hills It s a big City. However, for my family, I know they are laying a fantastic foundation for my children s future and I can't be happier that we re part of this community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Supposedly one of best schools in NYC, but that doesn't say a lot about the school itself. Principal is not friendly and is focused on herself, and test scores. She doesn't really care if the students learns or not. PTA is useless. They don't represent the parents. Just does what the school wants and tries to collect money from parents. Speaking of money, they require you to bring more school supplies than any kid can ever use. In some cases, 5X as much as what I've seen in Manhattan schools not far away. Best part about school: teachers are good, but only a matter of time until they get annoyed with rest of school. Worst part: Everyone is so focused on standardized tests and how the school ranks. What about the kids growth and development? Apparently not important here. So not worth buying an expensive house in Bayside for this quality (or lack thereof) of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2012

PS 203 Queens was named a National Blue Ribbon School for its academic excellence by the United States Department of Education. Congratulations Principal Nussbaum and all the dedicated teachers and staff of this amazing school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Without a doubt, P.S. 203 is one of the VERY BEST schools in New York. Every teacher here expects every child to excel. The principal expects every child to develop a strong academic foundation before they graduate. Some may argue this places too much pressure on children. My children can come back home and complaint during their summer recess at an Ivy League University.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

My 3 children and 5 nephews went to P.S. 203. The teachers are extremely caring and highly motivating to the students. The parents are very involved as well. The school is academically one of the best schools around. The big secret though is that their creative and performing arts programs are just as strong. The dance, music, drama and fine arts teachers work closely together to produce several performances per class during the school year and ALL students participate, not just the talented ones. The school principal always comments that we have our own Broadway production. She is a tough administrator but very fair and loving. She cares about her students and her staff. When my youngest was nearing graduation, she asked "Do I have to graduate? I don't want to leave P.S. 203, it's so fun here." That pretty much sums up how wonderful the school is. Strong Academics + Strong Arts = Top School It is true that a couple of secretarial staff could be friendlier but don't let them affect your impression of the school. They don't teach the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

Great school. Great principal. Students push each other to do better. One of the crown jewels of NYC public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2011

My son who is currently 5 is ready to attend kindergarden at ps203. The first person my wife and I had contact with was a lady (not to mention her name..) who handles all registration related applications. Not only was she impatient with us, very unhelpful, and rude. She provided incorrect info which may have cause my son to get into the school! After many attempts to get more info from her, after we missed the open registration period (due to mostly her fault after given incorrect info!). She finally asked us to come in with our child with all the paper work for registration. We reminded ourselves to be very friendly, and polite due the history of how she conducts her work. She actually refused to shake my wife's hand when we initially met at the lobby. Some how pretended not to even notice my wife had her hand up waiting to shake her hand, and just asked us "where is your child"? (there were many people in the lobby at the time, so she might not have seen our child). This lady pretty much gave us a very bad experience about this school, I'm hoping the teachers and everyone else is not like her whatsoever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

Have have raised 2 kids through PS 203 and find the teachers and staff knowledgable and helpful. I recommend this school whole-heartedly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2010

my child doesn't like math and she gets very high scores. great school fun S.O days carnival day great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

PS 203 is a great school. Some political stuff that goes on...otherwise...happy that my kids were privelaged to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

The Principal is very devisive and manipulative. If your child is not superior, do not contemplate this school. Favoritism rules among teachers, parents, students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2008

Its a great school for my child! It's a wonderful place to learn and very fun! The teachers and wonderful adults. They always succeed and it is a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Principal is contentious and devisive. She rules with an iron fist and if you cross her, look out. The school constantly has its hand out for 'donations' and a steady stream of additional supplies for projects etc. Too much attention to test scores and teaching to the test. Far too much parental jockeying for 'top class teachers'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

I agree with a previous post where the focus is on test scores and less emphasis on overall child development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

One of the great schools part of District 26. Great educators, many extracurricular activities and huge parent involvement make the Oakland Gardens School an atractive environment for the students and parents alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2006

This school is very diverse. It has an enhanced program of academics and activities. The community and parents in general are very involved. The principal is very devoted and the teachers are young, prepared and energetic.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2005

I have a daughter who has been a student since Kindergarten and will be graduating June 2006. Overall I am pleased, however, I do have some concerns. Too much emphasis is placed on City and State exam preparations while some subtle and important learning criteria are overlooked, such as penmanship, vocabulary, and wrting skills development. In addition, basic intoduction to foreign languages, science and history are not given the attention or emphasis which should be provided to nurturing elementary students. Finally, class sizes are too large and the teachers are at best slightly better than moderate. In closing, I'm concerned that overall student development is being sacrificed for school reputation and salary bonuses. P.S. 203 is a good school, however, if your looking for a 'great' school - look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2005

Great school. I am very happy with the staff and all the programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

pretty good school. Quiet environment and good student source.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

109 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 73% 9%
White 18% 48%
Hispanic 6% 23%
Black 3% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 59%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 509 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents46672%
Teachers4388%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CAROLE NUSSBAUM

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

53-11 Sprngfld Blvd
Bayside, NY 11361
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 423-8652

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 130
Bayside, NY


P.S. 31 Bayside
Bayside, NY


P.S. 46 Alley Pond
Bayside, NY


Bayside Oaks School
Oakland Gardens, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT