Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bayville Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 403 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2011

bayville intermediat and primary schools are the best. they have so many wonderfull teachers. i miss this school and i wish i could go back. its so hard to name a favorite teacher, because they are too amazing. i love these schools and i love the teachers. they do everything they can to make sure you have fun and learn everthing you need to. i have absolutly NOTHING bad to say about these schools accept that eventually you have to leave them. remember, this reveiw is coming from somebody who actually went to these schools, even though the whole town knows how amazing these schools are


Posted October 13, 2010

My son attended kindergarten at this school and I found that the staff did take the extra steps to see that the kids were number one while in their care. I was very impressed with this school and my son enjoyed his classes and liked his teachers. Unfortunately we were renting at the time and had to move out of the district. I have raised 5 children, and out of all the schools I've dealt with over the years, this one ranks first on my list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

it is just great and the kids love it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

My both kids graduated from this School and had a great time overall. The Teacher's were top notch for the most part and had some very unique approaches to learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

Excellent school. I had my three children go through the district. Each child had different needs but suprisingly they were able to meet their needs. Excellent resources we are very lucky...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

I think the school and the community lack in support for the children once school is over. The children have no community support, sports are important but are not end all. In this college market sports is a crutch, and we as a community should develop a plan to educate our kids outside school. Tutor centers, resource centers, I believe that bayville has the space for these types of center. Overall Bayville is a great place to raise a family but the community outreach support is limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

Overall the schools in Bayville are excellent. It is a nurturing district, which takes pride in the students achievements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Bayville Elementary is a great school. You can drop your child off to school and know they are safe. My daughter has a wonderful teacher Mrs. Rovere for first grade. She noticed my daughter had promblems reading and they were addressed immediately. Parent involvement is not too much. I would love to see more of that. The school over all is a terrific school. More parents should hope they get a terrific teacher like Mrs. Rovere. I would also like to thank the reading teachers and keep up the good work you are terrific.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2004

Well my child went here, and I think it was a great school. She waas always telling me about something new, whether it was disneyland in gym or the career study in 2nd grade. It is a great school. :)
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

58 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
43%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 86% 48%
Hispanic 1 11% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Black 2 0% 19%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 25%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 114%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 69%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Mountain Ave
Bayville, NY 11709
Phone: (516) 277-5400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Portledge School
Locust Valley, NY



Friends Academy
Locust Valley, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT