Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Rippowam Cisqua School

Private | PK-9 | 462 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bedford

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,035,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2012

Rippowam Cisqua may not have the beautiful facilities, but they're focus isn't looks. It's the the quality of the education and the friendly, close-knit community that makes the school stand out. An alum of RCS, I now can appreciate how much the teachers really care about their students. The teachers go the extra mile to make sure every kid is enjoying and learning from the class! I can't say I have anything bad to say other than that the school ends in 9th grade and everyone ends up so close that on graduation people are crying (because no one wants to leave!) The high school placement is amazing and I would easily say ALL of the kids go off to impressive, academically rigorous schools. RCS instills an independence in the pursuit of education and a friendliness that you can't find anywhere else. I still get teary eyed thinking of how much I miss the school!


Posted February 7, 2012

Three different Heads of the Lower School in three years, an almost new Head of School (2 years?), and recent high teacher turnover, are troubling. Add to that a Board of Trustees member whose three kids attend the school too and you have a nervous parent/teacher/administrator scene where favor seeking is common and some classrooms host one very special teacher's pet. There are some good teachers and some bad but it's the inexperienced administration and cronyism that may interfere with the quality of education your kid will get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2011

My son went for 10 years to Rippowam. What a great school! I only wish every child in America could experience the love of learning and support my son received. He is now in 10th grade and he is more than prepared for his new school. I also have a daughter in first grade there now, she loves it, in fact she hates to stay home when she is sick. Very committed teachers and a caring administration who listens to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

Wonderful staff provide a diverse and richly engaging early education. Very small class sizes, very active parent community make this one of the best environments for children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

This is a terrific school. The learning environment here is nurturing but not at the expense of providing a rigorous academic experience. Our children have very different leaning styles and strengths and have become strong, confident students. Parent involvement is strong, but not overbearing. The school leadership and teachers have been terrific and extremely available. Our children have attended both the lower and upper school with great success. We have no doubt that our children will be well prepared for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

Great school. My three children can't wait to get to school, and come home so energized about what they've done each afternoon. RCS is doing something right if it's instilling such a love of school and learning in the children, whilst challenging them at a high level. The teachers get to know the children and families so well and they genuinely care. In the end, they get into great high schools and thrive once they get there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2008

My child just finished 9 years at Rippowam Cisqua and had a wonderful experience. She will now go to a top rated private school for high school. The school gives he gift of a love of learning that is more important to me than hours of homework each night. It gives the gift of organizing their work in order to produce high quality work (rather than high quantity). I was continuously amazed at what these children learned and were able to discuss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

Honestly, the school lacks skilled teachers and the facilities are not impressive in the least bit. My children have not been satisfied with the school and i feel that the price we are paying for the education of my children is grossly overpriced. Furthermore i would like to say that the school spends to much time focusing on its so called 'arts program' when the money should be going to updating the facilities and hiring capable teachers. The endowment is terrible and the idea for the high school and the money wasted on it was ridiculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

Great school. I feel the school acts in the interest of my children. The communication between teachers, heads of school and parents is outstanding. My children after moving from a hothouse British school environment have still felt challenged but in a more balanced environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2006

A lot fund raising and parent participations. Teachers are nurturing and kids are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2006

Rich curriculum and extracurricular activities. Very high level of parent involvement required. Kids are happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2005

Ripp is a great school where students are involved in their own learning. Teachers really care and really love teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2005

A truly amazing school! Rigorous and top notch academics with at the same time very nurturing teachers. Their ninth grade program is one on the best in the nation.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 52%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 4% 21%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Matthew Nespole
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (914) 244-1245

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

439 Cantitoe Rd
Bedford, NY 10506
Website: Click here
Phone: (914) 244-1250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Harvey School
Katonah, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT