Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


21 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Rippowam Cisqua School 2

Posted October 16, 2014
- a parent
An intimate country school with hit or miss good teachers. Administration is a joke. The head of the school position changes every year. On top of all, they have breached safety, THE MOST IMPORTANT issue at any school is to protect our children. The security / lack of safety is offensive. How could a parent sleep at night knowing that their children are not protected? There is currently a large percentage of parents who are outraged by the lack of priorities. If they spent half the effort on safety as they did on raising money, the school would be viewed differently.

Rippowam Cisqua School 2

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
The quality of this school has dropped considerably in the past 10 years. The Board of Trustees is running the school into the ground with its terrible management of the Head of the School position and can't seem to get a Lower School Head to stay (longest recent tenure is 2 years). Teacher quality varies from some excellent ones to newbies with little experience. Class size is slightly smaller than local public schools but the classrooms are small in size and often in the basements. Unless you can write big checks on top of tuition, expect your child to be ignored and dismissed by teachers and administrators alike.


Rippowam Cisqua School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
This school is really disappointing. Please look elsewhere. The way students are placed into classes in the lower school is so upsetting. They don't care about the children's needs at all. Further, There is a terrible inequity among teachers. Some are amazing veterans and some are children with such little experience themselves that they should be assistants in a third rate elementary school at best. Lastly, The school is disorganized, unprofessional and no one really is in charge. If you have a student that needs special attention at all, there literally is no one to go to, no one who cares. Completely frustrating. They are behind the math and reading standards of the state. Oh- worst of all- any suggestions fall on deaf ears. This will be our last year. Can't believe I pay the same As the people in the room next to me.

Rippowam Cisqua School 5

Posted February 28, 2012
- a community member
Rippowam Cisqua may not have the beautiful facilities, but they're focus isn't looks. It's the the quality of the education and the friendly, close-knit community that makes the school stand out. An alum of RCS, I now can appreciate how much the teachers really care about their students. The teachers go the extra mile to make sure every kid is enjoying and learning from the class! I can't say I have anything bad to say other than that the school ends in 9th grade and everyone ends up so close that on graduation people are crying (because no one wants to leave!) The high school placement is amazing and I would easily say ALL of the kids go off to impressive, academically rigorous schools. RCS instills an independence in the pursuit of education and a friendliness that you can't find anywhere else. I still get teary eyed thinking of how much I miss the school!

Rippowam Cisqua School 3

Posted February 07, 2012
- a parent
Three different Heads of the Lower School in three years, an almost new Head of School (2 years?), and recent high teacher turnover, are troubling. Add to that a Board of Trustees member whose three kids attend the school too and you have a nervous parent/teacher/administrator scene where favor seeking is common and some classrooms host one very special teacher's pet. There are some good teachers and some bad but it's the inexperienced administration and cronyism that may interfere with the quality of education your kid will get.


Rippowam Cisqua School 5

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
My son went for 10 years to Rippowam. What a great school! I only wish every child in America could experience the love of learning and support my son received. He is now in 10th grade and he is more than prepared for his new school. I also have a daughter in first grade there now, she loves it, in fact she hates to stay home when she is sick. Very committed teachers and a caring administration who listens to the parents.

Rippowam Cisqua School 5

Posted September 20, 2010
- a parent
Wonderful staff provide a diverse and richly engaging early education. Very small class sizes, very active parent community make this one of the best environments for children.

Rippowam Cisqua School 0
no rating

Posted June 03, 2009
- a parent
This is a terrific school. The learning environment here is nurturing but not at the expense of providing a rigorous academic experience. Our children have very different leaning styles and strengths and have become strong, confident students. Parent involvement is strong, but not overbearing. The school leadership and teachers have been terrific and extremely available. Our children have attended both the lower and upper school with great success. We have no doubt that our children will be well prepared for high school.


Rippowam Cisqua School 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Great school. My three children can't wait to get to school, and come home so energized about what they've done each afternoon. RCS is doing something right if it's instilling such a love of school and learning in the children, whilst challenging them at a high level. The teachers get to know the children and families so well and they genuinely care. In the end, they get into great high schools and thrive once they get there.

Rippowam Cisqua School 0
no rating

Posted July 29, 2008
- a parent
My child just finished 9 years at Rippowam Cisqua and had a wonderful experience. She will now go to a top rated private school for high school. The school gives he gift of a love of learning that is more important to me than hours of homework each night. It gives the gift of organizing their work in order to produce high quality work (rather than high quantity). I was continuously amazed at what these children learned and were able to discuss.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Rippowam Cisqua School
Po Box 488, Bedford, NY  10506
(914) 244-1250
Last modified Rippowam Cisqua School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Rippowam Cisqua School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top