Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Francis De Sales School

Private | PK-8 | 460 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Belle Harbor

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $518,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,290.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2008

As a past-parent (2 children who graduated StFDS) & went on to Catholic High Schools & College, graduating at the top of their class, we, as parents, are proud of our children's accomplishments and their commitment for personal best, and thank St. Francis, a caring community school. God Bless of St. Francis
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

I have 2 children in St. Francis and I am extremely satisfied with their program. The principal knows every child in the school by name and the teachers all give 110%. Additionally, the warm small-town atmosphere helps the children feel comfortable and places them in a learning environment, free from distractions. Well-done St. Francis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2007

This school is excellent. we learn a lot but we also have fun at the same time. the teachers are amazing. they know so much. this school gives off a very warm feeling. we have a fine discipline system and a great curriculum.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 6, 2007

I don't agree with the review about being overcrowded. The school has 2 classes of some grades & 3 classes in others. So where they came up with 35 kids in a class I don't know. My daughter is in 2 grade and I love it. She has 27 kids in her class. The teachers are great she is doing well. I recently pulled her out of the public school in my area and was a little concerned regarding the curriculum. St francis is very Family orientated And the parents can get involved & help out The teachers & pricipal knows all the children & parents. Where I did not find that to be so in the public school. The work is all the same if you compare it to the public schoo it is just taught differently and at different times. My pick is St. francis over PS114 any day
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I have a son currently in 2nd grade; he also completed K and 1st at SFDS. We have been quite impressed with the curriculum, and the quality and dedication of the teachers we have had. The school is family-oriented and shares our values. We feel our son is getting a good education academically and morally. Other points: There are 25 children in his class. They have Spanish Class, Computer Class, Library. They are lacking in the Music/Arts area, however that can be outsourced as an extracurricular activity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

I currently have 1 child in the 1st grade. I disagree with the other review of overcrowded classes. Last year in kindergarten my daughter had 23 kids in her class, this year she has 27 children in her class. I think the teachers are wonderful and most importantly very involved and in the know with our children. Many friends of mine are Public School teachers and tell me that St. Francis is up to par with their curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2006

This school is okay. The school is well kept.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 7, 2006

This school is overcrowded...the children are stuffed in classes of 35-40 student how can anybody teach or learn under those circumstances? My son is in K there and the quality of education is terrible. I already have him registered elsewhere for next year. I will not waste another year of his education at this overrated school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Patricia A. Chelius
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

219 Beach 129th St
Belle Harbor, NY 11694
Phone: (718) 634-2775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Yeshiva of Belle Harbor
Belle Harbor, NY





Scholars' Academy
Rockaway Park, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT