Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps Is 266

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 697 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2014

I graduated from this school in june and was in class 803, like the two previous comments. Let me just say something about this school- I have never witnessed any kind of bullying, teachers DO care if a student is not exceeding in their class, and this is probably one of the safest schools in the city. It is nothing like Martin Van Buren HIgh School. 266 offers many activities like drama club, cross country, leadership program, best buddies, ARISTA, real heroes, and there was a girls basketball team. I can say that 266 was the best 5 years of my life and I miss my 266 family so much. Sending your children here would be the best choice you can make. -Graduate of 2014


Posted August 31, 2014

I just graduated from this school. I was in class 803, like the previous comment showed. However, I do not agree at all with what that person said about this school. This school greatly lacks extra curriculars, and although the school has anti-bullying assemblies, they do not know how to deal with the issue itself. I was beat up by a boy in seventh grade (and I'm a girl), and yet he did not even get suspended. All he got was a phone call home. Knives are being brought to school, some of the teachers don't care if a student is suffering in his/her class. The gym teacher doesn't even do his job, because all he does is hand out some basketballs each day we had him while he sat back and talks to whatever teacher is with him. We only played soccer for three days and softball for two days out of the entire school year. This school is beginning to go on a downward spiral, and I would not be surprised if it became like the Martin Van Buren high school close by. However, there are some pretty good teachers, and there is a program that can help prepare your children for the state test. Besides that, though, sending your child to this school would not be the most beneficial of choices.


Posted November 15, 2013

PS IS 266 is an amazing school. I am in 8th grade this year and i have been in this school since kindergarten. I love their after school activities like the drama club, extended day, cross country, and volleyball. The staff tries to prevent bullying by creating programs like best buddies (Kids from 266 and the special ed kids come together and become friends to show that everyone can be friends) and the real heroes committee. In 7th and 8th grade there are specialized placement classes for those who tend to learn faster than the rest of their grade, those students take both the earth science regents and the integrated algebra regents. I was in sp in 7th grade and i am also in it this year. The teachers in this school are very kind and helpful. My favorite part of this school are the talents, in 6th grade you get to chose from 3 talents that you will take 3 times a week for the next 3 years. There is band, art, and computers (i am in band). This school uses a lot of electronics, we have ipads, macbooks, smart boards and more. I really recommend this school.


Posted October 27, 2013

I like this school because it has high quality teachers. Also, the teachers allow me to come up during lunch time and get help from them.Finally, the trips are really fun.


Posted October 8, 2013

PS / IS 266 provides an amazing and unique learning environment. Technologically savvy and staff who are caring and dedicated. This school strives to give the students the tools to succeed and the parents to be able to support their children as parents, not as teachers, all as a team effort. There does need to be some tightening about the tolerance of bullies and bullying. feel parent-to-parent involvement should be facilitated by the school administration acting as a catalyst to ensure parents can be in contact with one another when there is a situation ongoing between students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2013

i have been going to this school for a while and while i was here i have been disrespected and judged because i have a disability and my style and size. This school doesn't have any good extra curricular activities. they only have a girls basketball team which i so rude because alot of guys like to play basketball. i think they need to add new things to this school pronto!!


Posted August 28, 2011

Dedicated administration, faculty, parents, and students make this school the wonderful learning environment that it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

While I did not go to this school, my parents did attempt to apply me to 266 (I was transferring out of another school) and they were immediately turned down due to the fact that we didn't live in district 26. Though, there are many students who attend this school who don't live in district 26. I don't know what the school had against us, but I found it rude to just blatantly turn me down without really knowing anything except that i didn't live in district 26.


Posted April 20, 2010

This school has the most wonderful extensions to the curriculum, like Real Heroes, the Green committee, Faces and a great PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

I'm so glad that my girls are part of the wonderful community that P.S./I.S. 266 offers. They are receiving an excellent education and the staff is friendly and courteous. It is a well run school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2009

5 Star, for the students and the wonderful dedicated teachers there! The students are Blessed to have this great &new exciting school!!


Posted December 16, 2009

I so much disagree with the December 10th post. It is like she is describing a different school. This school, because it is small, focuses on the children more than I have seen in other schools. And because we are small, the teachers are able to focus where a student needs help the most. In PS/IS 266, the students come first and they are not lost among others. I also disagere about the diversity of this school. It is a fully diverse school with evey ethnic group included in the mix without any cause. As for 'issues' in the school, there is none. I have never seen more caring students, especially the older kids with the younger kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This is my childs first year here at the school. She won the lottery and is in her final year at the school. This school has all the resources for learning however they need to include some cultural diversity learning programs and or training on the student level as well as the faculty. The ratio of African American Students to others is quite low and their seems to be some issues among the students. I have spoken to the dean and he assures me he will bring up my concerns to the appropriate individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2009

266 is great and the facility members are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

i love psis 266 because its a very good school and one of the best
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

266 is the best so as the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2009

This is my sons first experience in school and so far he loves it! He is learning so much. First second week of school he knew the days of the week!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

My children have loved this school since they began 6 years ago. Besides the wonderful diversity, the curriculum is challenging and there is a strong sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

I love the teachers who are the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

This is our secind year at 266.I can't speak more than I have about the exceptional administrators,teachers,staff,students and parents. Students are in a rigorous academic environment where they're nurtured,loved and challenged everyday.This is a unique school where everyone knows your name!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
84%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

50 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

56 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

86 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

85 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
65%

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

68 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 46% 9%
White 1 28% 48%
Hispanic 2 14% 23%
Black 2 11% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 23%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 142%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 70%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 716 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents43287%
Students25699%
Teachers2861%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

74-10 Commonwealth Blvd
Bellerose, NY 11426
Phone: (718) 479-3920

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 186 Castlewood
Bellerose, NY


Ps 224
Bellerose, NY



Yeshiva Har Torah
Floral Park, NY


Ps 811
Little Neck, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT