Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public district
Bellmore, NY
Students enrolled: 957
 

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


19 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Grand Avenue Middle School 3

Posted March 23, 2015
- a parent
Parents fight teachers and are incredibly pushy to get better academic grades and honors programs when their kids are not academically high achievers. That means to live in this district you got to be a pushy pain. Maybe 40-50 percent fail the common core. Rather then get their kids up to speed these parents excuse their kids from the common core.

Grand Avenue Middle School 1

Posted November 14, 2011
- a community member
I hate this school. I've been at this school for two months, and already hate it. Everyone at the school is vile, with constant bad language and skin-tight and revealing clothing. I've been subjected to girls laughing at me while I eat, and it is overall the worst school experience I've ever had. I have made a promise to myself that when I am an adult, I will NEVER come back to Bellmore. And I'm in eighth grade, so that shows must show something.


Grand Avenue Middle School 3

Posted October 30, 2010
- a parent
grand does not really challenge students or prepare them for the future. homework is purely busywork. They care even less about kids who learn differently. if you have a special kids get ready to fight for their rights. If you have an average or higher learner be prepared to supplement thier education.

Grand Avenue Middle School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
excellent teachers, guidance counselors,forward thinking curriculum. Every child noticed!

Grand Avenue Middle School 1

Posted August 23, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Grand Avenue Middle School 1

Posted March 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Grand Avenue Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
I jsut want to give parents of kids with any special needs a heads up. Do not trust anything this school promises. Get everything in writing. Don't fall for statements like' all 7th graders have trouble' or ' lets give it some time'. decide what your child needs now and fight for it.

Grand Avenue Middle School 4

Posted June 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Grand Avenue Middle School 3

Posted June 18, 2007
- a student
Its a Good School I met lots of new Friends and the teachers always Help when Needed

Grand Avenue Middle School 2

Posted February 26, 2007
- a parent
This is a one size fits all school. They are not intrested in making any accomadations for your child even if it is the law. They are not very kind or caring to my child. I have had to fight for just basic and common sense needs.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grand Avenue Middle School
2301 Grand Avenue, Bellmore, NY  11710
(516) 992-1100
Last modified Grand Avenue Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Grand Avenue Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top