Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Freshman Center
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
All my kids did well in the Brentwood elementary and middle school until they got to the Freshman Center. The school is terrible. My neighbors told me not to send my kids there when I bought my home, but I figured it couldn't be that bad. Mediocre teachers, a Principal you can't call or see in-person when a problem arises, and plan on having your kids things stolen. There's lots of bullying, drugs, and gang action too. I'm sorry I didn't listen to my neighbors.

Freshman Center
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
I don't know because even though the Westhampton school district provides a website with all the homework due, and the grades and a parent portal for the parents to see.. this huge school with the big budget doesn't offer that... so I don't know the level of homework that was given to my kids. Kids won't always tell you when something is due if they don't like their school environment and don't care to be there.


Freshman Center
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
As far as I know with all my three kids who did terrible once in that school.... it was either you pass the test or you don't. There were just a couple of teachers that actually cared enough to work with my kids when they needed it the most.

Freshman Center
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
I believe there are too many kids to an adult to be able to set any respectful boundaries if something goes down. My daughter was being bullied, there was no teacher that stepped up to protect her or tell that other kid to have some respect while in school towards another student.

Freshman Center
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
The school is only concerned with test scores. But, as for the Guidance Counselors and Mrs. Brown.. I would say they DO care about resolving problems and looking to assist in the forward movement for the kids because they care.


Freshman Center 1

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
All three of my kids did well in the elementary and middle school until they got to the Freshman Center. There are mediocre teachers who run classrooms with 25+ kids in the classroom. My neighbors warned me when I bought my home, not to send the kids to the freshman center or high school.. but I didn't listen. There's drugs, bullying, gang action, and don't be surprised if your kids things get stolen. They have a principal you can't get on the phone or see in-person if there's a problem although I have tried a few times only to speak with him once and had to ask him for his name then he was happy to transfer me to the guidance counselor for help. I'm sorry I kept my kids in that school. I really thought the adversity would strengthen them but it just undermined their ability to feel empowered. I would not recommend this school to anyone who actually wants their child to have good or better education.

Freshman Center 3

Posted May 29, 2011
- a student
this school is way too small for growing teens. Its very crowded and you can only walk one way as the bells are rung. But other than that, the school is alright. Most of the teachers of nice and the a lot of the students are friendly. Attending this school this year, there has been a couple of minor fights but the security here is great breaking everything up. The security is good at their job and a couple of them are real chill . People that dont go to brentwood and the freshman center say its sucha bad district, but living here for 10 years and attending brentwood schools i know that brentwood is not that bad at all. Yeah , there has been some bad years but for the most part brentwood is a nice district to move to for families. Though , i do not like the freshman center and cant wait for the school year to end, it has been an interesting experience attending this school. But most people that move on to the highschool will get some sense of acheivement in them .. im sure of it .

Freshman Center
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a student
This school is way too small! Especially for children our age. Its so small you can only walk in one direction and to turn around and walk the opposite direction is against the school rules. It has great teachers and most of the students do care about their work. Many problems and flights usually occur because you cant really run away from the fight because theres not enough room to run. But over, this school does bring a lot of character to a teen.


Freshman Center
no rating

Posted August 06, 2009
- a student
This school is way to small! Its filled with to many students. Your only aloud to walk in one direction. You cant even turn around because it against the rules. It has great teachers just its too squished and between the students too many problems take place. Fights hapPen frequently and you cant run away because theres no room to run away! Yes, this school does build character though.

Freshman Center
no rating

Posted March 26, 2008
- a parent
i understand that people believe brentwood is a horrible district, but actually most of the teachers a dedicated. many are to harsh and many are push overs but it does help the students suceede. the school is beyond over crowded and they need a better place to fit all the 9th graders and also send north bay shore students to the bay shore district because they have more money and funding and bigger schools. the biggest problem for these schools is the fighting between gangs and wanna be gang members. also the amount of illegal immigrants is becoming a on going problem and needs to be cracked down on. the schools punishments are pretty harsh but still we are not scared. the school has many officers there throughout the day but we see them as friends. honestly the school district has much work needed but they have great opportunities.

Nearby schools

Freshman Center
33 Leahy Avenue, Brentwood, NY  11717
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (631) 434-2541
Last modified Freshman Center is a Public school that serves grade 9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top