Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

John F Kennedy Elementary School

Public | K-3 | 470 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2013

Great School, should be awarded a Blue Ribbon and Rate 10. Principal, Staff very Professional,Attentive and Accommodating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2011

In December 2005, we moved from the Bronx to Putnam County with our 4 children. My son attended JFK Elementary from 2005 - 2009 and my daughter currently attends kindergarten. The level of communication between parents and teachers and parents and the administration is unlike anything I ever experienced in the city. My son had an IEP and was just recently declassified as speech and language impaired. I credit the Brewster school system with helping my son to accomplish this. They pushed him forward when they thought he could handle it and held back when they felt that was what he needed. Moving to Putnam County's Brewster School District was one of the best decisions we've ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2006

we have a kindergartener there and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2005

I am extremely happy with JFK, as are my two children. The teachers and wonderful and I can't say enough about the Principal. My children have learned a tremendous amount and love going to school each day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

My husband and I visited approximately 10-15 private schools prior to enrolling our then six years old son at JFK. We thought it was the most nurturing and progressive of the schools we visited. We do not regret the decision to place Chris in the public school. The principal, and all school personnel, are very receptive to parents' concerns and ideas. My husband and I wanted a challenging setting for Chris but we also wanted a school that dealt with the individual needs of each child. Chris was very shy, active and anxious when he first entered JFK. By participating in the social group, the class oral presentations, voluntary challenge tests and other activities, Chris has become a very social and secure 8 year old. Our 4 year old will enter the school in September. We have yet to regret foregoing the private schools for JFK.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 1 73% 48%
Hispanic 1 19% 23%
Two or more races 2 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
Black 2 2% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 19%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 114%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 50%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

31 Foggintown Rd
Brewster, NY 10509
Phone: (845) 279-2087

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Longview School
Brewster, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT