Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 170

Public | K-2 & ungraded | 259 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

5 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2013

My daughter has been at this school since kindergarden and is about to graduate. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who really cares about their children's education! Their curriculum is like that of a private school and the extra curricular activities are ample. They offer swimming, ballet, drama, baton twirling, art and much more. They also have after school programs and extended classes for kids who need extra tutoring with their reading, writing, etc. Ms. Ramos, the principal is doing an excellent job running this school!!! The rest of the staff from the parent coordinator to the cafeteria staff is excellent. Everyone knows everyone since it's a small school and a lot of parent involvement as well. It's just a shame it only goes to the second grade. We are going to miss everyone dearly, especially Ms. C, the security lady.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2012

My older son attended p.s. 170. Now he is in middle sch. And my younger is in second grade This is a great school. The teachers are really good. I highly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

I got to work as a sub-Para in this school for about three days during the year 2005, the following year I transfered my son out of the school he was in at the time and registered him to P.S 170. That was the best decision I made! the school is small in size but huge in educational quality. The teachers are very dedicated and involve, they truly care about their students' education. Parents are always welcome if they have any questions and/or concerns. The principal takes her job seriously and as a result the school offers great education. The school has a great art and drama program which students really seem to enjoy. when my son entered the school he was a little behind do to his previous school, as soon as he entered P.S.170, he blossomed academically. Is a pity the school only goes up to 2nd grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

Both my children went to PS 170 and they had the best education. The teacher are all excellent. When my children graduated, they received many awards and the teachers actually care about the kids. I recommend this school to any parent who have young children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2005

This is a wonderful school with a great program geared to pushing the children to reach their highest potential. The teachers are very involved from the first day of school throughout the entire school year. They even take the time to communicate with you on a weekly basis sending written reports on your child's progress academically and behavior wise. This is a great school and I would recommend to any parent in the Bronx area looking for a school that is focused on success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 73% 23%
Black 1 23% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
White 1 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 229%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 273%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 27%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 272 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
9.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
9.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents25098%
Teachers2296%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MRS. NANCY RAMOS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1598 Townsend Ave
Bronx, NY 10452
Phone: (718) 583-0662

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT