Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 131 Albert Einstein

Public | 6-8 | 839 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 27, 2014

This school I heard, has had fights everyday and uncontrollable students. I'm in 5th grade, I just graduated from ps182 and I am horrified of going to this school (Yes im going) My name is Kyla.S and I do not recommend this school... At least its what I say right now.


Posted March 9, 2014

I am not sure what the last reviewer is speaking about. However, I will say that Ms. Mason does not curse out kids on any given day. Yes, the school is not perfect, and there are things that needs to be worked out, but she is a first year principal give her a break. Before she came to the school, under the old administrators staff was able to do what they want, there was no accountability, and since she has been there, she has hold staff members accountable for students learning. She make herself prevalent in the hallways on a daily basis to clean those hallways and ensure the students get to class on time. There aren't a lot of schools that you go to, and you see the principal and assistant principal constantly in the hallways. This school was a C school, and in one year, she took the school from a C, to B. Again, I will say not everything is perfect. It did not take one year to destroy the school, and it will not take one year to build up back the school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 7, 2014

The school seems to have many excellent teachers. However, the place is run by a questionable and somewhat "street" type principal. I went to the school because I had some concerns about what my daughter was telling me about how many of her classmates behaved during class. I asked her if the teacher tried to maintain order and she said that he does everything he can but the class (many in her class) just doesn't listen. I asked if he helped her in spite of that and she said that he was a very good teacher. I was escorted to the room by the principal, Ms. Mason. On Our way to the room, we passed by a class that was very rowdy. Ms. Mason stopped to see what was going on and entered the classroom. There was a female student who was creating a scene. The principal addressed her directly and the student cursed Ms. Mason out. To my surprise, Ms. Mason returned by cursing out the student and then called security! The problem with this school is not the instruction but the leadership. How can you model good behavior if you have none?! Get a new leader and maybe many of the problems will go away. Stay clear of this school and Ms. Foul mouthed Mason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

131 is a bad school in a bad neighborhood. my friend Arielle lives in the Stevenson Commons which is a bad neighborhood according to Arielle. 131 is right by the Stevenson Commons, too. It's where all of those project kids who use street talk and go to Kips Bay. Arielle and i know that it's a terrible school and we are still in Elementary, going to 5th grade. We do not recommend this school for you.


Posted December 13, 2011

I went to this school many years ago, graduated in 1970, and back then, there was alot of bullying going on. Overall, I liked this school. Too bad there is no alumni or something to get in touch with kids whom went here or PS 100.


Posted June 11, 2011

This school is a joke! This is the kind of school that when no other school wants a student, this is where they end up. The curriculum in this school is below average. Honor Roll just means you are AVERAGE. This school might as well be a boxing ring since there are fights every day. Parents need to to their homework before sending their child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

Most of the students are out of control. The teachers have trouble getting the students to settle down. I was passing by a classroom once to meet with the Asst. Principal and saw the students ignoring a teacher who was trying to get them to get back to their seats. They ignored him plainly. Security was called upon to break up a fight in the lunchroom and another was being requested to escort an unruly student out of a classroom. All in one day. The only students that do well in this school are the ones in the gifted classes. Unless you are on top of your kids and the school your child will fall through the cracks. Fortunately for me my son was in the gifted class. My son's teachers have been good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2010

this school does not discipline well. The kids lack focus and need to be more respectful u go to meetings about issues and still nothing is ever fix. violent school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

This school still does not discipline well. The kids lack focus and need to be more respectful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2007

This is a great school, I was a former sudent there before moving to Florida. The teaches and staff there are excellent and it was much more advanced than any other school I had ever gone to, including my charter school. Your child would do fine in this school and there are very few conflicts compard to other New York schools. I also want to give credit to one of my former teaches, Ms.Blanchette, she was funny but also very strict about or work and getting everything done and turned in.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2006

Albert einstein school is a good school. all the teachers and the staff member care about the the students and their work.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2005

best school in the world.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2004

I think that IS.131 is a excellent school, my two kids are improving very well. they are always learnig somthing new everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

If your child is in regular ed he/she while do fine. But if the child is in special ed. he/she will not grow or succeed at a rate that you would want for your child. For 3 years my child did not improve. I think that there needs to be a change in the staff that runs the resource dept. The resource is 45 minutes of wasted time. I.S. 131 needs a new crew for the resource dept. A teacher that uses proven teaching techniques that work and not the traditional and conventional ways that don't work for every child. This school does have many great and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

219 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

221 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

229 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

242 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
24%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

244 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
7%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

252 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 57% 23%
Black 2 40% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 26%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 197%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 40%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 1123 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.5
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36649%
Students70190%
Teachers5690%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MONIQUE MASON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

885 Bolton Ave
Bronx, NY 10473
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 991-7490

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT