Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 14 Senator John Calandra

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 598 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2012

This school has made such an overall improvement under Mr. Shulman. I congratulate you on a job well done! The teachers and staff are always a pleasure to work with. My kids are striving in their education and I am most proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

Congratulations Mr. Shulman and staff of P. S. 14 on the A rating for your school. Job well done!


Posted May 17, 2012

There are a few things I do not agree with on and I will bring it up on the next PTA meeting, ,


Posted October 26, 2010

I must agree Mr. Kovac is running the school down.... In order to speak to him you must go through 3 different people only to be told that he is unavailable. He sent out a letter stating that he has an "open door policy" this is far from the truth. The staff looks misrable and the grades worst. I was the happy parent that wrote about how my son transferred from a private school and all the help he received. I still stand behind the teachers but the principal must be changed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

I have 2 children who went from k-5 at p.s. 14. While I loved the school under the former principal, Mr. Guzzio, the current principal, Mr. Kovac has brought this school to the ground. He came to the school and hired a parent coordinator who is his puppet! Evelyn's main focus day in and day out is to sugar coat every horrible think he does and persuade the parents that the truth is actually far removed from what it is. While I hands down loved just about all of the teachers I have come into contact in p.s.14 this principal has made this school one that parents run from (move out of the ares to avoid) instead of the school that parents once coveted. Any teacher who does not agree witjh every word he says, or who doesn't cover for his outragous behavior is written up and eventually FIRED!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2010

Parents, ask yourselves this question; how can children learn in a school where the teachers are constantly looking over their shoulder, afraid that the dictator is going to make up some fictionary infraction to write them up for and ultimately fire them! Seasoned teachers are running from or being fired from this school and being replaced with inexperinced teachers who are afraid to stand up for themselves and our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

I love P.S 14 because when ever I have a question for a teacher, the principal and our parent coordinator it is answer right away. Mr. Kovac is all about the kids and making sure they receive the best education possible. Ms. Evelyn always has very helpful workshops to help us help our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

The staff is professional and genuinly care for the children. They do their best to get the parents informed and involoved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

My daughter attended this school for kindergarten only but I would have loved for her to stay thru 5th grade. The teachers are staff is very kid friendly and her teacher was phenomenal. Since my daughter left they have improved greatly on their expansion and quality of afterschool activities. The custodial staff is always on the look out for the safety of the kids. The parent coordinator is very involved with the parents and has an open door policy. We loved it there. Lesly Lopez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2008

my daughter use to attend the school and it is a great a great school i am proud of the teacher and staff there they delt with your child respectfully.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

I think the school is great i would send all my kids here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2007

P.S. 14 is an absolutely wonderful school, a rarity for the Bronx as far as I am concerned. This is a school that actually cares about their kids, they get them involved in so many different extra curricular activities, so much so that children enjoy going to school and actually look forward to it. For example they have dancing classes on Saturday mornings, puppetry classes, many trips through out the school year to Museums, Botanical Gardens, Zoo, etc. My daughter just finished kindergarten and I have to say she is one bright little girl because of the teachers in this school, she is only 5 years old and knows how to add, subtract, read sentences and count backwards, she can even tell the time on a clock. The after school program is great they help them with homework, they watch movies in the auditorium, they play in the yard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My son is now in 4th grade at this school - I have loved it from day one. All of his teachers have been very open and caring, and my son loves the school, his friends and his teachers. He also attends the after school program - where they feed them a snack, have home work time, and then take the kids either to the gym, or outside for play time. I am going to be sad when it is time to move on. They do not have any music sports or art clubs (although they are always looking for people to start and lead these). They have a computer program that my son is thrilled with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2006

My child started Kindergarten at PS 14 last year and from the beginning, I could tell that the quality of the teachers and staff at the school was superior to some of the private schools I had investigated. My daughter is now in the first grade and she is doing well. Her teacher has given me her email address and has even called me to answer some of the questions I sent in a note with my child in stead of just writing me back. The teachers care as well as the other faculty. Almost as important to me, a working mother, they have a YMCA after school program which is a lifesaver. Even the staff at the YMCA program are very helpful and are genuinely concerned with my child well being. They give me regular reports on her behavior, whether good or bad, and have been very helpful. A++!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

This school is a wonderful school with teachers and school staff that really care about helping the kids. Because they care and give us many ideas on how to be involved with our children it really shows that they do care. My daughter will soon leave this school, I have no regrets regarding her time at PS 14. My son will start kindergarten after summer and I feel honored for him to attend this school. The way they teach these kids is awsome. And they even extend thier teaching to us the parents. The parents that can be involved really know how to pitch in. This is truly a school that teaches the kinder way...yet the smarter way too. A way that reaches all children involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2006

This school has a great academic program. Teachers really strive to help the children grasp new concepts. The only negative is it needs more extracurricular activities!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2005

P.S 14 is a great school. I used to go there but never graduated. Parents your kids will love this school it's fun,cool,and they'll learn alot. The teachers are great to because they care about your childs learning and they helped me alot. The staff is great too. What I like about the school is the people there can make your kids feel like they can do anything in life if they put there mind to it. There also kids there that have gone to hard but good schools. In other words alot of smart kids go and have gone there. Trust me I have friends that have graduated from there and they still want to go back.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 24, 2005

This school is a safe and good school. Academically, they are very good. We've had three excellent teachers and two o.k. teachers these past 5 years -so, basically pretty darn good I'd say. Unfortunately, there is NO MUSIC or SPORTS! They have an art class once a week - no biggie there either. Parents get involved as much or as little as they want. I'd recommend this school to anyone for their child. ONly goes from Kindergarten thru 5th grade unfortunately. They needs to incorporate music somehow! and sports! The one after-school program is quite horrific. Kids are not allowed to talk there after a full day of school, nor play too much and a lot of yelling goes on from counselors. The program needs help, but is actually quite safe, so we have utilized it for $13.00 per day. Overall - very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

Academic program are above exception with some teachers (3rd grade Ms. Colon, 4th grade Ms. Polanco). Children actually get separated into groups to achieve highest academic ability according their individual level. Music not available due to financial situation, which the city needs to pitch in more. Parent involvement needs improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2004

This school is amazing! If you go to this school, you'll have a fun time learning, having fun, and eating! There's a lot a great teachers who make learning fun! They have the most delisous food in the world! There's a lot of great events you can do at this school. They have trips, dances, pizza parties, Field Days, and even Talent Shows! You can have a fun time at this school!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

104 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 58% 23%
White 2 35% 48%
Black 1 4% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 266%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 39%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 486 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
9.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents44487%
Teachers4293%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. IRA SCHULMAN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3041 Bruckner Blvd
Bronx, NY 10461
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 822-5341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 10
Bronx, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT