Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 931
 

3 stars
Based on 56 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


68 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 5

Posted January 31, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attends the K class at PS 24. This is an excellent school the teachers are firm but very caring. There is a lot of emphasis on the arts, as well as exposure to science and computers. The Parents Association is highly active and does an excellent job raising funds for activities, equipment (e.g., Mac Lab and the well stocked library), as well as additional in-class part-time support. The only concern seems to be the relative overcrowding. However, overall the school is a safe, clean, and inviting. My daughter is very happy to attend it.

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 5

Posted September 30, 2014
- a parent
My daughters and I moved to New York from Arizona and have lived in Riverdale for almost 5 years. They both have attended PS 24 for several years. I appreciate the frequent communication with the teachers and school sponsored events. They have great cross walk attendants and car attendant for child drop off as well as assertive yet friendly security personnel. It's a safe, clean and nurturing environment.


Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 0
no rating

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
There are out of control children at this school and faculty does not discipline them. Instead, they are lead to believe punching and hitting others is within norm.

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 4

Posted April 03, 2014
- a parent
My son loved it! And for me Its not that grate but chinldren last word, is two street from our hause !

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 2

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I moved to Spuyten Duyvil in the search of a great public school. Well, PS 24 is considered one of the best in this area, it is organized, have strong parents leadership, and multiple fundraising activities at the cost of parents pockets. PS 24 falls flat when it comes to teaching academic, it does not have an after school program that is free and no homework help unless your child has special needs. If you have a bright kid chances are your child will not be challenge. Teachers are so overwhelmed with over populated classroom and extra curricular activities that they have no time to properly assess their students or to challenge them. Hope the reviews would have given me some insight about this school before I moved here. This is very disappointing and frustrating.


Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
PS 24 is an excellent school - my son's first grade teacher was fantastic - she was firm but loving and the kids received a great deal of instruction. In contrast to his kindergarten teacher (at a different school), he loved his first grade teacher. He finished the year receiving all 3s and 4s and reading at grade level. His occupational therapist also had helped improve his writing - so much so that his OT is reduced to 1x per week (vs. 2x/week). The school also offers special clubs during lunch as well as Spanish and Theatre classes. My only regret is that the school goes up to 5th grade and that he'll leave to attend middle school. Parents Association does a PHENOMENAL job in raising money and is relentless in raising funds - having raised $150,000 during one year to pay for additional teachers and programming. The building is old and can use a renovation, but the education is solid.

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 3

Posted May 20, 2013
- a parent
This school is just ok if you have a regular kid. You will surely be disappointed if your kid need special help academically or is very bright that need more challenge. Some teachers are great, some are just so-so. The fact that it is not a union free school make it very difficult to let those long time "so-so" teachers leave. So it's a true hit-or-miss situation every year.

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 5

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
My son is in 4th grade at PS 24, and our experience there has been extraordinary. we only wish there was an equivalent middle school in the bronx. every teacher my son has had has been extremely talented. some have been a bit more warm than others, but for the most part the staff is extremely empathetic and they genuinely love their students. The administration is innovative and energetic, and very effective. Like any public institution, there are disgruntled and resentful parents, and you can read their bad reviews here! but pay no heed to them. we have found it very easy to participate in the parent association, and we volunteer regularly. my only complaint about the parents as a whole is that there is considerable resistance among many to contribute to their children's own education. but, that is changing. with every new class, we see more parent involvement and more participation in fundraising, which is great. the money raised by parents has provided smart boards, computers, and trips to lincoln center. I will miss this place when it is time to move on!
1 person found this helpful


Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 4

Posted February 07, 2013
- a parent
My daughter couldnt be any happier then she is this yr at PS.24. We moved to the bronx a few months before school started and I was worried about her transition. Her teacher is amazing..kids are great. Very good school support.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil 5

Posted September 27, 2012
- a community member
This is a public school in the Riverdale section of the Bronx. The Riverdale section of the Bronx is the most affluent area of the Bronx. The school is so great! All of the fantastic things about it cannot fit into the regular 5 day week. Therefore, unlike all other schools, PS24 needs to have a revolving 6 day week. The only problem with this is that no-one knows what day of the week it is at PS24 without consulting a source other than a calendar. Please disregard all negative and mysterious comments about PS24 that are posted on this site. Such comments are clearly made only for political gain.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil
660 West 236th Street, Bronx, NY  10463
(718) 796-8845
Last modified Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 24 Spuyten Duyvil Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 68 reviews. Top