Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 72 Dr William Dorney
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
bullying is a big issue here , you would be better off not even sending your kids to school at all if you choose this one.

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 1

Posted September 09, 2015
- a parent
you would be better off not even sending your kids to school then picking this one.


Ps 72 Dr William Dorney
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Some of the teacher have lost their passion for education and some of them have not… Being a teacher is a calling…. I do feel that some teachers should not teach at all. However, the good ones, do make a difference!

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 4

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
I was giving many mix reviews about this school when moved to area….however, as a member of the community and active tax payer, I choose to support our school. Because of the financial demographics in the school area, PS 72 I am pretty sure that the school receives funds that are only there to better our children education, however many parents fail to do their job and solely rely on a school to raised theirs kids, perhaps some of the negative reviews comes from those parents. I honestly think Mrs. Colon runs a tight ship, she is a very personal, an approachable principal that sincerely cares about the kids, however I feel that she can use more support from her staff. Because the review needs to be an overall review I wished the staff can understand that it s vital that they work together and support each other on all efforts, as this is only will change the view of our school. Some one once said “when you do what you love you never work”, some of the teachers in this school show how much they love their job and the students, and are those teachers that are making a positive mark. However, there are those that should review their career’s path and make a change, rather than allow their negativity or bitterness cloud a child’s day. I support our school, it is a good school with room to become great, but only if we all come together and support!!

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
Members of the staff strive to make a difference, while other do not (but that is everywhere you go). The principal and vice principal go the extra mile to ensure that the level of education is there. However, the work does not start in school, it starts at home and gets validated in the school..


Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 1

Posted March 15, 2015
- a parent
I thought throggs neck schools were the best, but that is not the case. All the kids from the housing development nearby attend ps 72, Which for some reason the parents don't teach them manners. Not all kids are bad but you do have numerous that do interrupt the class rooms and the teachers don't do nothing about it. There are many kids that are reading below grade level and the school does not provide the appropriate help for them to go on to the next grade, then the teachers and staff got the nerve to send promotion in doubt letters home. The principal, assistant principal, teachers and staff have fail to find a method to teach the kids in the school. Do not send your kids here, this is the last year my kids will be attending ps 72. I regret sending my kids here. I don't write reviews, but in this case I had to do it so I could help other families. Find another school nearby or send them to private school. DO NOT SEND YOUR KIDS TO PS 72

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
I am a parent of a third grader who has been in PS72 since kindergarten and has excelled wonderfully, they have a large variety of afterschool activities that the children enjoy. I am also a graduate of this school as well thats why i chose it for my daughter!

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
p.s.72 this is a great school.my son attends this school and iam very proudto have enrolled him here even oughi had a few problems but it turn out to be just find the principle, ms.colon is a great principle as well as the school staff members mrs, dunphy is a excellent teacher. a teacher that teaches her students and go beyond to teach all or more to her students. I love this school and this teacher she is the best of the best .


Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 4

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
My daughters has been going to this school for three years. I think it is amazing what the leadership of this school and community have created a culture where by the progression is steady increasing. This school is definitely headed toward being an excellent place for learning. It is definitely a great school. If you get a chance to put your child I this school get involved, be part of the SLT or other groups and see and be part of the great strides.

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney 4

Posted February 11, 2014
- a parent
My kids attend this school beginning with Pre-K which was fabulous program and full day let not fail to mention that. So far my both daughters have had great teachers that are dedicated to preparing them to advance with their reading and math. They are very proactive in developing the children's knowledge to assist them in achieving the highest score possible on the state examines. I am a true believe of challenging a child's mind, because if you don't the minds get lazy and they learn to except that average is acceptable. I'm a product of Public School and I see a different in the teaching now from then, which I think it's much better now. So I have to say, PS 72 in doing a great job.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 72 Dr William Dorney
2951 Dewey Avenue, Bronx, NY  10465
(718) 822-5311
Last modified Ps 72 Dr William Dorney is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 72 Dr William Dorney Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top