Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 78 Anne Hutchinson

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 753 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

I have two girls going to PS 78. The staff members are awesome!! I have gotten to.know a few of them personally as they happen to deal with my girls on a daily basis. They have their best interest at heart. The school is always clean. Staff are always properly attired setting a good example for the children to follow. Their relationship with the students is amazing. My girls are in kindergarten and grade two!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

P.S.78 is a GREAT school--STAFF their care about their students and want the best for their students. They go beyond what they have to do--


Posted October 31, 2012

I was a former student at this school and it is the worst school ever the teachers are somewhat nice but the children are mean & cruel and i know this because i was also bullied at this school i went to this school for a full 6 years I graduated in june so i know from experience that this is THE WORST SCHOOL EVER ! whatever you do please don't let them go to this school save them the horror of being afraid to go to school just because of their fellow classmates & students


Posted October 15, 2012

Ps 78 is not a good school at all,they dont care about the students and their well being.The staff is horrible ,very rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

This is the worst school I have ever seen the teachers don't care about the students they allow the students to do what ever they want there is no consequence for bad behavior the kids are not learning anything but how to fight my kid had to atten the school because it was his zone school so I moved just so my kid could have a shot at a better education the should close this school or place better teachers there if start take money out of the teachers pay checks for failing students bet you they would be the top schools if I had to rate this school I would give the a one just because of the bell program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

SORRY THIS SCHOOL IS NOT A GOOD ONE, THE TEACHERS DONT CARE, THEY ALLOW THE BIGGER KIDS TO MANHANDLE THE SMALLER ONES, WITH NO CONSEQUENCES. WHEN CONFRONTED THEY TRY TO JUSTIFY.. BULLYING IS BIG ON THAT SCHOOL AND TEACHERS , STAFF ARE NOT REALLY HONEST ABOUT HOW THEY DEAL WITH KIDS,... IN MY BOOK THIS SCHOOL DOES NOT DESERVE ONE STAR


Posted May 15, 2012

The teachers from this school are very nice and they always communicate with the parents. The students do there best to pass of grade. The school is very cleans, the only bad about it is that there is only one security guard available. The playground is very nice, students do more exercises and that is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

I have two children in the school and i'm very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2008

I am so sad that I made the decision to allow my child to go to this school due to my family moving. But this is only his first month in the school and I have nothing good to say of it at all. When I first meet the teacher she look as she just woke up and was not excited at all to see a new child in her class. Her first comment to us was that 'I hope your child doesn't talk alot'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

This is my daughters last year there. Some of the teachers are very good, but they have their hands full trying to discipline those children that are out of hand. Leaving the better chidren to suffer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

p.s 78 is a disater. The children are out of control and the teachers are confussed and need a lot of help with these kids. I urge someone to help these children get the education they deserve and help the teachers teach!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2007

This school needs a lot of help. This will be my sons last year in this school, I am glad to say that I will be removing him from this school. Some of the staff is helpful....but at times noone knows what is going on with anything. My son is constantly getting hurt by other children. I feel that the quilty of education in this school is very low. Also there are no extracurricular activities for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

My son attends this school. This will be my son last year here also. The beginning of the school there were too many students and he felt he was being distracted too many times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2006

Do not send your child to this school! the education quality is poor, the children are rude, ill-mannered, and aggressive, and the teachers are there to collect a pay-check and take advantage of the vacation/holidays... This is my daughter's first and last year in this school (she is in second grade). If you are at all concerned about your child's welfare, you will look somewhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

Principal and assistant principal need to be more involved to make sure no child is in the hallways when they should be in class. Teachers should make the extra effort to make sure the kids have all there belongings before they leave there class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2006

The staff is great because they care and get involved. Unfortunately the principal spends most of her time in her office. As a result, the school lacks the comradery it needs to deal with its' problems There is a great need for discipline as well as resources to address behavioral issues.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
20%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

125 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

124 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 75% 19%
Hispanic 2 22% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
White 1 1% 48%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 187%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 32%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 468 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents41671%
Teachers5293%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. CLAUDINA SKERRITT

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Needham Ave
Bronx, NY 10469
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 652-1244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT