Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
49 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
Connie, the receptionist. She is very nice and always compassionate. She was very helpful and supportive when I was at my lowest point in dealing with stuff with my daughter and the horrible treatment my daughter experienced.

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
Some of them are effective. The ones that are not racist are very effective. Mr. Sanchez, the art teacher and Mrs. Hill, the math teacher are very effective.


P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
No. The kids cannot work at their best motivated level in a school that diminishes their self esteem.

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
No. They racially profile the african american students and cater to spanish and white students. The administration jumps to conclusion and assumptions in lieu taking time out to get the true facts. They don't respect the kids. They speak to minority kids in a condescending and stereotypical manner

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
No this school does not develop compassion, caring nor empathy in students. Most of the administration does not have these qualities. When I went to the school to see what was going on with my daughter, the first thing that came out of the principal's mouth was call security. It is sad when a principal does not know his parents nor students. He had never said anything to me in all the years that my daughter has attended. Yes, he wants to call security and police. SMH


P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
The school does not develop honesty, integrity or fairness in students. When things happen, they manipulate students to tell stories that go along with the agenda of the administration.

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
Connie, the receptionist. She is very nice and always compassionate. She was very helpful and supportive when I was at my lowest point in dealing with stuff with my daughter and the horrible treatment my daughter experienced.

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
No. The kids cannot work at their best motivated level in a school that diminishes their self esteem.


P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
No. They racially profile the african american students and cater to spanish and white students. The administration jumps to conclusion and assumptions in lieu taking time out to get the true facts. They don't respect the kids. They speak to minority kids in a condescending and stereotypical manner

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
No this school does not develop compassion, caring nor empathy in students. Most of the administration does not have these qualities. When I went to the school to see what was going on with my daughter, the first thing that came out of the principal's mouth was call security. It is sad when a principal does not know his parents nor students. He had never said anything to me in all the years that my daughter has attended. Yes, he wants to call security and police. SMH

Nearby schools

P.S. 83 Donald Hertz
950 Rhinelander Avenue, Bronx, NY  10462
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. (718) 863-1993
Last modified P.S. 83 Donald Hertz is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top