Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
As I see how my son interacts with me and his family and friends he learns from positive and negative experiences, especially those learned through his peers, at home these are essential values, and at school he must choose correctly in order to succeed. We all face these developmental challenges, it's our choices that matter.

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher 3

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
I feel this way because there is always room for improvement in our schools especially when a lot programs are being withdrawn or replaced, like outdoor play or movement all together, even personal opinion, it should be collaborative, when it comes to an overall achievement and happiness, for a well rounded educational experience.


Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
My son was being seen by Ms. Cheryl Hurst, she is a social worker at the MMCC at the school clinic at P.S. 95. I feel much gratitude for all the help she offered my son Jeremy, she was patient and kind and she truly believed in Jeremy's ability in the classroom. Her influence was positive, glad she's there, making a difference in kids lives and the teachers, grateful that Jeremy can continue his journey in academics and socially, knowing there are people by his side like her in his path, Thanks for everything Cheryl Hurst, staff, and teachers whom have such grace. Forever grateful, Ana A. Liriano and Francisco Morales, Jeremy's parents.

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
I wanna thanks my son for staying strong throughout a really rough school year..The school staff don't deserve any thanks. They were the problem..

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
Strongly disagree they don't have any respect for the students. Then they wonder by the students don't respect them,.


Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
I strongly disagree the school staff doesn't have any compassion , caring or empathy for any of the students or even parents..

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher 1

Posted January 10, 2016
- a parent
All i have to say this school is horrible..I would never recommend this school to any parent.

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Grateful to: Student

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
Only thanks to my child who stayed strong throughout the bullying and poor education he has prevailed away from this school. No staff deserves any thanks.


Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
Pootly educated teachers that need training in sensitivity and do not show proper compassion in dealing with students.

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted January 09, 2016
- a parent
This school is terrible homework was mainly printed work from websites teachers don't properly educate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 95 Sheila Mencher
3961 Hillman Avenue, Bronx, NY  10463
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (718) 796-9200
Last modified Ps 95 Sheila Mencher is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top