Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 100 Isaac Clason

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 652 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2013

The office staff was pretty rude and unorganized. The first day of registration none of the necessary paperwork was put together and most of the school staff was unaware that registration for kindergarten had even started. There were no signs posted throughout the school about registration.Comments were made about the finances of parents from "the area" which mainly consists of low income housing. Overall very disappointing and not the great school it used to be over 20 years ago. Definitely going to seek out other options for my child. I want a school that believe in my child and not categorize or judge based on where he lives. Just because we live in a high poverty neighborhood, it does not mean we should just give up and deem the children failures. These years are crucial and will help set up the foundation for learning and success and the negativity I witnessed is not productive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

I though to enroll mi child in a private school but a close friend of mine told me that this school is excelent better that any private school. The principal teachers, parents, and the security lady, everyone are involved in their education, behavior in the positive way and caring about our children. My son is 5 years old and in three weeks will be his graduation from kindergarden, he did not go to pre-k last year and for that reason i was concerned and worried when he starts this school year, but Mrs. Kramer help him to believe on himself and guided us to continuing that help at home and we did it... He can read he loves Math and the most important HE LOVES GOING TO SCHOOL....we are a great team. Thank you Mrs. Kramer, Mr. Chaltman, Parents-Teachers Association (PTA) and The Security Lady. we will continue the journey through our kids' success.God bless you all..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2008

My daughter had attended private school for 2yrs, before attending P.S. 100. While in private school she was lacking in her studies and was very unhappy because her teacher would single her out of activities due to her 'learning abilities' That's how they would label her when ever she did not get excel in a subject area which I think is unfair. However since her transfer to P.S. 100 I've witness a major turnaround. She enjoys reading, doing her homework, she shows a great deal of interest when it comes to school and she constantly brags about her classmates and more importantly her teacher Mrs. Feliciano. My daughter's teacher classroom is a place where children want to be and learn. In addition, Mrs. Feliciano treats her student fairly and with respect. I wish their were more teachers like her . I am proud of my daughter's achievements. Yeah Mrs. Feliciano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2006

How often does a student come back to check up on his or her school? I was a student at P.S. 100, and I loved it. The work was challenging, the teachers understanding, and all of the activities really engaged the students. The staff really seemed to know and love what they were doing. I'd go as far as to say that this school was the most successful in setting me up for the rest of my acedemic career, and I wouldn't be exaggerating. A heartfelt cheers to Mrs. Workins, Ms. Hans, and Mr. Z!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 12, 2004

My child is attending P.S 100. This school is a very good school. My child has learn a lot. This school is one of the very few schools that has good attendance and high test scores. I recommend this school to any parents that are thinking of placing there child in a public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2004

My sister went to PS 100, I went to PS 100 and now my 10 year old nephew attends PS100. I think this school is a wonderful school with excellent teachers. My nephew goes to Saturday school to help with his reading and the teachers seem to always inform the parents of the child's status as far as academics and social behavior. This school is wonderful and I am proud to be a graduate of this excellent school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

I have a child in P.S. 100 since kindergarden. I think this school is a very good school. My child has learn a lot in this school. I think this school is the only few public schools left that has a calm and nice environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2004

I have had a great experience with PS 100. The teachers and ParaProfessionals are very involved with the children. They have some of the best scores, not to mention, the way they assist children with special needs is wonderful. I'm sure anyone else who has a child with disabilities can agree with this. Definitely, a role model school. Congratulations!


Posted September 3, 2003

Parent involvement is discouraged. PTA meetings are held during business hours and parents are not encourages enough to attend. The PTA is like a girls club. Parents/Teachers/Students are never put to meet together. It is always, parent and teachers on the Parent/teacher dates. Parents do not meet their child's teachers until then. Unfortunately, it is helpful when parents meet the teachers before the students do. Also parents do not know what supplies to get for their children. Each class requires different supplies. Such confusion should not exist. The principal is basically non-existent unless your child encounters trouble. Shouldn't the principal meet the parents of the student's enrolled in the school. P.S. 100 has changed quite a bit. Hopefully, the children will not pay a high price because of it. It is a small school and should be run like one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

100 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
39%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 59% 23%
Black 1 38% 19%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
White 2 1% 48%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 18%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 191%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 41%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 251 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents21242%
Teachers3978%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. CHAD ADAM ALTMAN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Taylor Ave
Bronx, NY 10473
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 842-1461

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 107
Bronx, NY



Ps 182
Bronx, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT