Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 1,096

3 stars
Based on 27 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


30 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 1

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My kids went there last year and we transferred they said my kids couldn't read well and gave them baby books only they didn't have security my kids passed the gifted and talented and were reading 6th grader novels I reported the parents not signing in at the annex and the dangers of cars I suggested cones and more stop signs for the fire drills that have children crossing a busy street it was when I went for training to be a volunteer I received a letter I was band for bogus lies and allegations I keep a water dispenser in my living room and one day my child came home and stuck her mouth on the spout in said where did you learn that? she said no we just drink it like that so it don't spill.. I asked the school why they said that I need to provide cups for the class I said no I'll bring one Sturdy water bottle for my kids only I can't afford to provide for the school all the fountains are broken in the school and all season kids have to go back and fourth in the cold to the main building rain sleet or snow most times with no coats terrible school low grades low expectations

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 1

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
My son attends P.S.103, and if it wasn't because of his intelligence , coupled with getting help when he needed it, he would be heading for a failure. I think the teachers do not care enough. They do not take enough pride in what they are supposed to do as teachers. The staff is rude and lack integrity. The security in the school is lacking and the security staff tend to be rude as well.


Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 5

Posted January 15, 2014
- a parent
I have two children attending this school, so I think it is a very good school, good teachers and a great principal. When a parent decides to send his son to school alone and something happens on the road can not blame it on the people who work there, as parents we have responsibilities, like helping our children and not blame it on school staff or teachers, when things go wrong, also the education begins from home, please support our school .

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 1

Posted July 03, 2013
- a community member
I am new to this this website so my comment is kinda old. I went there for 1st grade and my mom pulled me out of that school for second because she found out that it was failing school. They taught things that you suppose to learn in kindergarten. I remember me and my friend John always to get in trouble for talking because we already new the work. The first graders was not even in the school we was in like a big box with classrooms. Now I am going to 8th grades honors because of: P.S.41 M.S.144 I wrote my review for both school just look for the day July 4 2013 Hopefully this review was helpful

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 2

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
How appropriate that an 8th grader who went to this school has written a review with not a single piece of punctuation in it. His teachers must be so proud. Good job, Mr. Jacobs!


Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 1

Posted March 13, 2013
- a parent
they do not challenge students or keep track of them they let my daughter leave school by her self and she is only 6 years old i found her in the street the water fountains are all brokeyou dont have to sign in unauthorized nameless parents assist the school and students they are given keys to the school as well water is 50 cents in lunch room only uniform is three color yellow blue or maroon your choice cars drive in and out of the playground/parking lot if you complain they will build up false reports they said my children cant read i had them retested and found out they read very well passed theyre grade level teachers loose homework and say that it wasnt done they are mean to children when you not looking if you dont wear sneakers rain sleet or snow you fail gym

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 4

Posted October 16, 2012
- a community member
I used to go to this school I was part of the graduating class of 2010 and I'm in 8th grade now when i went to this school it was great although i didn't do great the teachers were good most of the time unless you made them mad then you would either get detention or your parent called although after that the teachers respected you and helped a lot and they have a great robotics team i was part of lead or used to be lead Mr.Jacobs i have no information about it but it was a great after school program and we actually won some competitions in the making and i have a medal to prove it.

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 1

Posted July 24, 2011
- a parent
I was wondering what the color of their uniform is. My daughter will be starting in september and i want to start buying the school supplies.


Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 5

Posted July 19, 2011
- a community member
My Father is The Principal of This School right now & he is doing a FANTASTIC Job!! i am sorry tht some of these reviews say tht the school is too "strict" it is a matter of discipline tht a child need 2 better them selves in their future life.your doing a GREAT job Daddy!

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez 4

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a PS 103 student since first grade, she is in fourth grade now. I am satisfied with her progress and the care the school staff provide to the children. PS 103 is a great school

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 103 Hector Fontanez
4125 Carpenter Avenue, Bronx, NY  10466
(718) 655-0261
Last modified Ps 103 Hector Fontanez is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 103 Hector Fontanez Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. Top