Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 111 Seton Falls

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 687 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2013

I do not know where to begin; ever since my child was in second grade the teachers and staff has made all type accusations towards my children, nieces and nephews. One teacher told my daughter boldly that she was going to be held back, in front of the entire class, not to mention she is only in 3rd grade. As a result, my daughter was and is fearful of the teacher; I didn t realize how distress my daughter was until I heard her praying on her knees (as I reiterate) please god let my teacher stop being mean to me and always picking on me in class. This was the last straw; I had a meeting with school staff and teacher about changing her class! It has been over a month and no adjustments have been made (and her teachers are still haunting over her like two evil witches. In conclusion, I am removing her from the school because this institution has been my worst nightmare. I can go on for months with the anxiety my family and me had to go through with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2011

Not a good school the principal mentally abuses her teachers, turning each one against each other.


Posted September 2, 2009

this is a great school, my child has learned a great amount in her short time there. now she is going to first grade and i look forward to her new progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

My son is in an inclusive setting in the 5th grade. He likes it but their is no support for the children having problem. If you make enough to pay for lunch than you can not get any tutoring offered in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

I attended this school for a couple of years & I think it`s a great school. The teachers really help out the students & are very nice & helpful


Posted April 11, 2007

my son is in pre-k . I have to say I love this school . The teachers are great and are always there to help and listen . My son has learn so much and his behavior has improve as well he loves this school as well also the staff is oh so helpful and kind .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2006

First, I would like to say the school is a very good school. If, indeed you are a parent who is interesting in good education, seton falls is the place to send your child. The principle is for the children. She loves and cares for them deeply. She makes sure they get the best quality of education their is, by having SES programs, after school, and music [playin an instrument]. She has over 7 different events for the children and their parents to enjoy each year. Her staff members work hand and hand. The teachers are very easy to talk to and they are very open minded. Then, you have the parent coordinator who is outstanding. She will make time for you and always give you genuine support. I know all this because I am an involve parent who have two sons who attend the school. I am very sadden, because my fifth grader is leaving this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

The school has tons fo trips, activities, and events for its students and parents. It can get a little expensive when u have more than 2 children, but it's worth it. The staff are helpful and concerned. And I noticed a lot of Parental involvement. My children enjoy going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

My daughter is a second grader in this school. Her first year there was great, she made the Honor Roll, however, I do agree with the other parent whose feedback was that it depends on the teacher. The teacher she has now seems very nice but it appears she is overwhelmed. I've found the PTA meetings to be redundant and unproductive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

This is my son's 6th year in this school and my daughter's 4th year. Initially, (the first 3years), I loved this school. The teachers they had were great and willing to give them extra work, etc. But I came to realize it depends on the teacher they have that makes it great. I have seen some improvements, however over the last few years in the music program and other extracurricular activities. My daughter is learning to play the recorder and it seems like a very good music program. Both my daughter and my son have learned to play chess and that is also great. What I would like to see more of in this school is a more caring attitude from the teachers about the kids themselves and not just about the test scores. Although our kids always need discipline, it takes more than that to get children to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2004

Since my daughter been in this school, she has accomplished alot. She's spelling and doing math all by herself w/o my help and her behavior has improved extraordinary.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
20%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students7%
Female6%
Male8%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population10%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English8%
Non-migrant7%

Math

All Students12%
Female10%
Male14%
African American16%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged13%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities4%
General population15%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English13%
Non-migrant12%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students8%
Female10%
Male6%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged7%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population10%
English language learners7%
Proficient in English8%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant8%

Math

All Students14%
Female14%
Male14%
African American18%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population18%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%

Science

All Students65%
Female71%
Male59%
African American62%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities53%
General population68%
English language learners46%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students7%
Female9%
Male6%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population9%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English8%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant7%

Math

All Students14%
Female20%
Male5%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic11%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population17%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 63% 19%
Hispanic 1 34% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 211%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 288%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 5%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 52%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 140 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents10519%
Teachers3559%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. AVA FULLENWEIDER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3740 Baychester Ave
Bronx, NY 10466
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 881-2418

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 723
Bronx, NY


Ps 68
Bronx, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT