Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 119
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
Thank you Ms Gabriele! You are a rock star and I'm so elated we were able to have you as our sons Kindergarten teacher. What a great start to his education.

Ps 119
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I can only speak for Ms. Garbiele and she is absolutely amazing. She truly cares about the children and their progress.


Ps 119 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My son has improved greatly while attending this school. His reading has my husband and I in shock daily. He may no longer have a need for speech therapy as well given his improvement. His Kindergarten teacher is everything! Her excitement for learning is contagious and comes through in her teaching methods. The breakfast and lunch served to the children is more than expected, very well balanced and healthy. My only complaint would be that they hold most of their parent activities in the middle of the day; working parents want to be involved too : (

Ps 119 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a parent
My childrens school is great. You have teachers that get to know you and your child very well. I love the fact that the school offers a variety of programs and courses that help pretty much all children. If I had to change something in the school it would be the organizing, they have no organization skills when it comes to many cases one of them including the first day of school entrance situation. The school has dance, art, drama class, character education, many after school programs. Many different parent meeting on alot of what is going on in school, how to help your child succeed not only in school but at home to. It is a really great school, its only some little things that need help with other than that I have no major complaints about the school.

Ps 119 5

Posted September 25, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has been attending this school for 2 years and I am very happy with the curriculum. She is in 1st grade and on a 2nd grade reading level. I have had nothing but great experiences while having to interact with the teachers and staff.


Ps 119 5

Posted August 29, 2008
- a parent
This is a great school. My son is in 1st grade and is on 4th grade reading level. The teachers are doing a wonderful job.

Ps 119 5

Posted April 16, 2007
- a student
thats a great school all the kids should go to that school because the enviorment and everything its just wonderful you know i wish that i was the school principal and school administrator!

Ps 119 3

Posted September 20, 2005
- a student
PS 119 is a good school. Parents are involved and there is an after-school program next door in the Junior HS.

Nearby schools

Ps 119
1075 Pugsley Avenue, Bronx, NY  10472
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (718) 822-5198
Last modified Ps 119 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top