Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 121 Throop

Public | PK-5 | 1011 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 4, 2014

My son attended this school for 3-5th grades in the G&T program. While there are limitations for the academics here (which I believe are largely a city wide problem) my son was happy here. They have great teachers here but most importantly, the principal is AMAZING. I cannot say enough about Mrs. Donnelly. She always responded to all of my concerns and questions and knows each child by their name and I think that there are over 1000 kids here. Mrs. Donnelly and her staff do a great job with getting extra enrichment programs into the school like education through music and the ballroom dancing programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

The principal in this school is the best I've encountered >she truly cares about the children and making sure they are in their comfort zone. Most teachers are kind and compassionate about their craft. On the other hand there are a handful of teachers who have a problem dealing with children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2012

I have to say, while I do like the principle and most of the teachers are nice, I am not pleased a with the school at all. The school is not safe in regards to children being picked up from the lunch room (this applies to grades 1st to 2nd). Anyone can pick them up, which is scary. The curriculum this year is horrible. The school received a C for a grade from the state. They are jumping from one subject to the next the very next day. They don't have spelling tests anymore. Last year my child learned so much, however this year he is not advancing the way he should. I'm all for parents reinforcing what the children learned in school, but its like we are now doing the job of the teachers. The children learn more from us than the actual teachers. For example before a child can learn division, they must master multiplication. They don't ensure the children learn the first step before they proceed to the next. Many parents in the school are bothered by this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

Excellent school welcoming teachers and principal both of my children attend ps 121 and I say this with pride and joy I learned how to be more patient with my children I learned how to get involved my children learn and are still learning independency and now they value education with the help of the throope school staff thank you for accepting my children and your remarkable patience is greatly appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I have two children enrolled here at this school, the family feel is nice however the academics lack enrichment and some ...not all the teachers aren't passionate about their job, the G & T program is a huge fasad as it cannot be compare to any other program in this borough farless the state, the G & T teachers are not adequately equipped or trained for this mode of teaching. For the most it is a safe , environment, the office staff is wonderful, the major downside is that the cirriculum lacks rigor, and too often it seems that the principal pretends to address issues but in reality just protects her staff. SHe has a nice demeanour and is very present but is not very effective..If a little more accountability is place on the teachers and some challenge added to academics, it has the potential to be a great school...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The school is great because we have a principal who is totally for the children. They are her first priority. We also have a great group of teachers. We have a good turn out of parents and the children seem to love PS 121 too
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 13, 2010

The principal is a great leader.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2010

Both staff and students at this school are great!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 12, 2010

The staff and Principal at P.S. 121 truly care about the welfare of the children. They put their all into making each day for the children a great learning experience. There provide a caring and loving environment that allows the children to both learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

My daughter just completed Pre-K at this school and I have been very pleased with the experience as a whole. I have no problems with keeping my child in this school until 5th grade. I am so happy that my daughter will receive a free quality education in a decent school with a wonderful principal and staff. My daughter is very excited to start Kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

In an age where complaining is the norm, and low work ethic is the standard; P.S. 121 is a bright spot in District 11. Everyone from the principal to the school aides are helpful and totally dedicated to the children of this school. The arts program for all grades is fantastic (I've sent three children to this school), the academics and prevention for children that are behind in their school work is excellent. This is a well rounded and caring school. I would recommend to anyone considering this school to seriously consider sending their child their. The Principal is the most parent friendly principal I have met. All of the teachers that my boys have had here have been nothing short of wonderful. The schools that my other children go to, do not run as smoothly and do not offer as much as this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

This school does not only care about educating our children. They care about the whole child. They teach them how to respect themselves and others. They encourage students to follow their 'Personal Code.'


Posted January 5, 2010

Both my girls go to this school . I am very happy with the principal's work ethics and vision for the school, the staff is wonderful....always willing to help....only downside is sometimes the teachers have to spend too much time getting the class settled down and less time teaching academics. good school overall but there is room for improvement...especially for the GT program...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2010

Great school, nice environment, excellent Principal, hardworking coordinator and wonderful staffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

My son is in 2nd grade G&T class. I like this School a lot. As someone mentioned, Principal gives 125% of herself. She is there in all the functions, meetings. My son's teachers both in 1st and 2nd grade are excellent. Though my son was the first batch of G&T, I did not see any lack of resources. Principal along with support from parents are trying their best to get the Technology grant for the whole School. Entire staff is very approachable. I definitely recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2009

my daughter is in the gift class of this school. She has the most wonderful teacher I ever know. We parents get frequent emails, letters and meetings to communicate with teachers and principal. The homework is challenging. School staffs are warm and helpful. The principal apparently works hard to get resources for providing free aftershool programs, improving school's hardwares. I think, PS121 is a pearl in the bronx public school It is a excellent and safe place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

great school the principal gets involves in everything the afterschool program is great and well organized. The GT program is great and keeps the parents informed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

My grandson is in pre k and so far we are having a great experience. He is learning alot. The teacher Ms Magnotta is very dedicated to the children. The principal gives 125% of herself. The rest of the administration is always eager to help. School is a safe nuturing enviornment filled with positive character building posters all over the school,just cant say enough. you must visit this school yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

This school is excellent at making sure your children really learn. We need to continue to support the Principal, Teachers and Staff in order for our children to continue the path they are going.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Although I loved PS 121's Family Feeling, I have to admit the students just werent challenged enough. As a mother I appreciated my child going to a school where he & I both felt safe so I kept him there from k-5, unfortunately, I now realize that PS 121 didnt do anything to prep my child for Jr. high and it seems as if he has been thrown into a curriculum that is far left of what was 'taught' in Elem. PS 121 has to do a much better job at preparing the children for the higher grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Female38%
Male24%
African American30%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities7%
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant32%

Math

All Students41%
Female50%
Male33%
African American38%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities14%
General population47%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%
Non-migrant41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students24%
Female28%
Male20%
African American24%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population29%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant24%

Math

All Students30%
Female31%
Male27%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population36%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant30%

Science

All Students84%
Female87%
Male80%
African American85%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities46%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students32%
Female27%
Male37%
African American27%
Asian/Pacific Islander54%
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population38%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant32%

Math

All Students35%
Female32%
Male39%
African American31%
Asian/Pacific Islander72%
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities15%
General population39%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 61% 19%
Hispanic 1 30% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 6% 9%
White 1 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 283%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 38%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 765 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
9.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents70185%
Teachers64100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. RACHEL DONNELLY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2750 Throop Ave
Bronx, NY 10469
Phone: (718) 654-2055

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 97
Bronx, NY




P.S. 89
Bronx, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT