Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 126 Dr Marjorie H Dunbar

Public | PK-6 | 735 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Saturday, September 13, 2014

As a staff member I feel the 2014-2015 year has started off better than others. I am a veteran teacher of 25 years and I've taught here for nine years. What excites me most are my students. I really look forward to helping them learn ... they are why I do what I do. I have to be very resourceful to do my job well.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted Thursday, September 11, 2014

So far so good, let me just say every single personal at the school brings a smile to my face, very nice, caring and helpful. My daughter seems to like if so far and has no complaints, she 5 in First grade and she actually had a bad experience in a charter school. Homework is very easy to understand and very organized by her teacher, they also have a behaviour chart that gets sent home everyday that parents need to initial and a homework check of sheet as well to make sure they do their homework. I love that the parents are being held responsible to sign homework and behavior charts because children can't do it alone. The uniforms are mandatory but super affordable at Cookies, children can wear their own sneakers if they want.to. In total at Cookies spent in total $67.00 on 5 shirts, 2 jumpers, 4 pair of knee high socks, 1 cute girly cross tie, 2 under shorts, But the very cool thing is that you do have to buy it a Cookies either! We had a navy blue Gap cardigan for cooler mornings, and I found another jumper at Burlington Coat Factory. So it doesn't have to be all from one place So uniforms very flexible to buy. That's all for now, I'll update in 6 months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

this school is the best because they make every thing interesting!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

Excellent Leadership. I oughta kno, i helped choose the last Vice-Principal. The Principal is dedicated, & passionate about the entire Schools improvement, especially in areas of past weaknesses. There is good parent involvement, engaging & worthwhile activities both during school & in the afterschool, & they have great teachers & caring staff. Having Volunteered the last 2 years there, i got to know the Schools staff & a great many students very well. The quality of people involved with this school is encouraging. Between that & the Multi-Cultural themes & diverse teachings going on in the School, i can only give rave reviews. The Schools staff are also very active in School & community activities, including protests at City Hall. The level of care is hard to top. NOTE: Clothes (uniforms) should never become more important than the actual education. Timothy M. Jenkins - Parent of 4 former 126 Student Alumni
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

dis school is the best all the teachers care about the students and they have lots of activites
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2008

The extra programs to help our children are welcome. These programs are helping our kids. The school needs to be stronger at ensuring every student is wearing the assigned uniform - this policy is violated constantly without any accountability. The new Principal shows to be very dedicated..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2007

This school is getting better and better thanks to a new, highly dedicated principal and equally outstanding APs. The academic rigor and quality of instruction have improved markedly in the past two years, as have the number of extra curricular opportunities for students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 28, 2007

The new principal is very dedicated to getting all staff and students involved in the success of the school. I like what I see. I am a new employee.


Posted June 6, 2005

I think this school has a great quality of academics. It has energized and dedicated teachers at work. It's great that it has bilingual classes which help parents to teach their native language and also students with difficulties or might not understand something in english can be taught in spanish. There are a lot of parent volunteers and know what's going on and are always giving suggestions. They bring ideas from schools they came from and from the country they came from. The diversity is great. A good place for a child to grow up open minded about the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 24, 2004

I was very displeased with the way the administration handled student safety and parent relations. I live right across the street and I transfered my child to a school across the Bronx rather than send him there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

113 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

91 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
22%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

97 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 71% 23%
Black 28% 19%
White 2 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 224%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 196%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 10%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 35%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 447 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.0
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.7
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents33650%
Students6697%
Teachers4578%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. NADINE KEE-FOSTER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

175 W 166th St
Bronx, NY 10452
Phone: (718) 681-6120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 73 Bronx
Bronx, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT