Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 138 Samuel Randall

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 967 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

I love this school the teacher work very hard to keep our children on grade level and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

This school has a really positive culture. The students and staff are cared for and it shows.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 19, 2013

I just came from the school's Christmas show and it was great, teaching the children about the season is a wonderful thing. This school get everyone involved. Thanks I really enjoyed myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2013

This is my daughters 2nd year at P.S. 138. This year she is in kindergarten(Ms. Playter) and last year she was in the all day Pre K(Ms. Leopold). I am very happy with this school. She looks forward to class every morning. I drop her off knowing she is in safe nurturing hands and pick her up knowing she has learned something new to stimulate her love of learning. I am very impressed with her teachers. They work very hard to keep the day interesting and inspire learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2013

This school is horrible!!!!! The new assistant principal always has an attitude and so does a lot of the staff! The bullying is outrageous and nobody does anything about it! This school needs to be shut down ASAP!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

THIS SCHOOL SHOULD BE SUT DOWN ITS THE WORST THEY SAY THEY NEED PARENTS TO BE INVOLED BUT WHEN WE DO THEY DONT LIKE IT ESPECIALLY IF YOU QUESTION EVERY THING
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

My son attends this school and I'm in the process of taking him out. This school has failed miserably and the kids are all failing. The only kids who are doing well are the "favorite" kids who are in the Sea Academy. It's the only good thing this school has. The 3rd grade test scores keep going down and down. KIDS ARE FAILING!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

my daughter attends this school currently and i must say that there needs to be more of an involvement when it comes to bullying. the assistant principle and the new dean do NOTHING to rectify a bullying situation that my child has gone through. Instead they wanted to hold my child accountable for reacting to a situation that Has been ongoing. on numerous of occasions i have been up there to try and rectify a bullying situation but little has been done on their end. There are some staff members that will go out of their way to make sure that something is done but when the head of the school is acting like it's nothing it becomes tireing. my daughter startedout in the SEA Academy class and is currently in the sea academy but because of the ongoing bullying in that school my child;s grades has begun to suffer. After this year is up i am going to transfer her out and send her to another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2012

THIS SCHOOL IS GREAT ACADEMICALLY I MUST BE HONEST I HAD 2 DAUGHTERS ATTENDING THIS SCHOOL UP UNTIL A WEEK AGO. ONE WAS IN KINDERGARTEN AND MY OLDEST IS IN SECOND GRADE, MY OLDEST WAS IN THE S.E.A. ACADEMY SINCE KINDERGARTEN AND MAINTAINED HER GRADES THIS FAR. PRINCIPALS LIST HONOR ROLL AND ALL HOWEVER THE PRINCIPAL COULD NOT HELP IN A SERIOUS MATTER THAT WAS BULLYING! I MEAN I EXHAUSTED EVERY OPTION BEFORE HAVING NO CHOICE AND GETTING A SAFETY TRANSFER FOR MY KIDS! IT'S SO SAD THAT A SCHOOL THAT OFFERS SUCH A GREAT PROGRAM TO HELP THE CHILDREN EXCEL TO THERE FULLEST POTENTIAL CANNOT DO THE RIGHT THING AND GET THE PROBLEMATIC CHILDREN OUT THE SCHOOL, INSTEAD THEY PREFERRED TO LOSE A CHILD THAT WAS A STRAIGHT (A) STUDENT THAT WAS LOVED BY EVERYONE!! I WOULD LIKE TO THANK THE FEW WHO DID TRY TO HELP US, TO BAD YOUR PRINCIPAL DID NOT CARE TO HELP AS MUCH AS YOU DID..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2010

My daughter graduated from this school I wish PS 138 had junior high and high school. everyone in thaty school gets a A+. I love everyone and that school has made my daughter acheive greatly....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

my daughter is in this school in a pre-k class and the staff help her with her speech. they care about the children. she has learned so much. its a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

I rate this school a 10! Teachers, prinicpal and parents are very involved. I'm always getting calls about upcoming events, reminders about test preparations and state tests. My dgtr joined this school in the first grade. She started in the bottom class for her grade and she is now in the second top class for her current grade. The principal, teachers, parents association and staff CARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

I had both my daughters attend this school and found that the teachers and staff are wonderful. They really care about the kids and really strive to make their educational experience a memorable one. I am greatful to the staff and especially the Principal for their dedication to our kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2009

my child attend to this school, many teachers are great with the students. They'll do their best to teach your kid, the principal do her job, but many parents and i do not agreed about her behavior, i rather not say at all..........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

This School is wonderful my oldest daughter attends the 2nd grade. The school always has special events for the family and teachers work well with the kids. My daughter absorbs the material given. I would like to see more work shops in regards to language arts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

My child goes to this school and is in the first grade. This school lacks physical activities for the younger grades there is no recess and few classes get to have gym class
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

So far i am very pleased with the Academy program they have for Kindergartner's. My daughter's teacher is wonderful. She has started to read and has an excellent technique on how to read a word. My daughter recently took the OLSAT and BSRA test and I am pretty sure she did well. Thank You P.S. 138
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

I have never met a principal who works as hard for her school as Ms. Dawkins. The school is succeeding, I believe, because the staff are truly dedicated. The extra curricular activites are geared to help all struggling students and the parent workshops are educational and fun. Even my husband wants to attend them all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2005

My daughter started school at P.S. 138 as of last year (the 3rd grade). I transferred her from catholic school as it became to costly for me. My daughter adjusted very well and aslo received the highest score possible (4) on the city wide reading exam. The school is very organized and has many extra-curricular activities for the kids (including academics also but in a fun and interesting way). My daughter loves the fact that we can log on to the Princeton website to see how she's doing on her exams and the practice in the areas where she needs to improve on. My daughter is now entering the 4th grade and we're both ready for the challenge.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students18%
Female22%
Male16%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities6%
General population20%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English19%
Non-migrant18%

Math

All Students15%
Female10%
Male19%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities13%
General population15%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English16%
Non-migrant15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students16%
Female15%
Male16%
African American14%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Not economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities0%
General population20%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant16%

Math

All Students14%
Female11%
Male17%
African American8%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic13%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Not economically disadvantaged19%
Students with disabilities0%
General population17%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English15%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant14%

Science

All Students85%
Female85%
Male84%
African American86%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities60%
General population90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students20%
Female23%
Male17%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities0%
General population25%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English23%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant20%

Math

All Students9%
Female8%
Male9%
African American12%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic3%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Not economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities0%
General population10%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English9%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 1 66% 23%
Black 1 31% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 1% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 2 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 17%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 284%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 7%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 52%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 460 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.2
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents40554%
Teachers5583%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LORRAINE CARROL-DAWKINS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2060 Lafayette Ave
Bronx, NY 10473
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 822-5325

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 182
Bronx, NY


Ps 119
Bronx, NY




Ps 36 Unionport
Bronx, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT