Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 153 Helen Keller

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 82 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

This school staffs(office) are horrible. Even one star is too much for them. They are definitely discriminating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

P.S. 153 Helen Keller is a school that meets the academic and social/emotional needs of the children. From the dedicated principal to the hard-working APs to the passionate teachers and staff, this is a school where learning and leading are valued. The parent coordinator is an amazing resource for parents and students. My daughter just graduated, and the parent coordinator was a truly motivating influence on her, especially as a writer. During my daughter's five year at Helen Keller, I was able to communicate openly and regularly with the administrators and teachers whenever I needed to. The monthly newsletters, school handbook and regular updates always kept us well-informed. The academic expectations of the students has been at a level that helped my daughter grow in all content areas. This is a school where the Common Core Standards are studied and implemented by the staff. There was a wealth of enrichment opportunities throughout the five years, including dance, chorus, robotics, chess, school newpaper, and more. If you're looking for a safe, respectful environment, look no further. The leaders and teachers of Helen Keller have my utmost respect and support always.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2013

i went to ps.153 from 2005-2007 and i went through alot being there, i got transfered out of a class in 4th grade there because me and the teacher didnt get along. i was moved to ms.hall class and had her again my 5th grade year. i never liked ms.hall due to the fact she hit the kids, she once told me she was gona throw me off the stage because i came off the wrong way after practicing for a play. i had so many fights and the teachers didnt try to solve the problems.the lunch was terrible and i would always be close to missing my bus because of how the teachers would hold me back at the end of the day and didnt care if i missed the bus or not. i must say mr.harridge and mrs.williams was a big help for me during my time at ps.153 in 4th and 5th grade at ps.153!!!!


Posted January 29, 2013

The Good: The Assistant Principal looked out for our son and made sure he did well. The Bad: The teachers don't like kids that don't conform to the rigid rules of this school. They don't seemed too concerned that your child has life-threatening food allergies. (The lunch attendants aren't even informed of said allergies. If your kid eats something in the lunch room that they're allergic to, it's not on them - they blame the child. My son drank chocolate milk - not entirely his fault, I give him ALMOND CHOCOLATE MILK at home. He throat started to close. Instead of calling 911 once the nurse realized it was an allergic reaction - she called me to bring him Benedryl. I had to take him to the hospital myself.) My son was bored & frequently told me every day that he was. On the first day of Kindergarten, my son's teacher was already complaining about his behavior. (Geez! It's the first day, give him time to adjust.) They forgot to put my son on the bus - they confused him with another child. How? My son has a very unique first and last name. (Heart attack inducing! Imagine wondering if your child was kidnapped or lost!) I transferred him out. Never again. He loves his new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

This is my second negative review for this school. My wife and I had another incident with the staff, who were "enforcing" school policy and were to eager to point blame at the parent. We were not asked if we needed assisstance or offered alternatives or even advised on current school policies. We were just told" these are the rules, follow them!". We feel we are being singled out for some reason. My wife and I have only been cooperative, kind and as helpful as we can be to the school staff. We have always been polite and understanding. Clearly it was a mistake to enroll our child in this school. My childs teacher however, is amazing! The education and improvement we have noticed is beyond expectations. Its a shame our child will not be coming back here in Sept. 2012. To any parent who is thinking about enrolling your child in this school.....Do your homework about this school. Talk to the teachers, staff and pricipals if you can before you enroll. Good luck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

I am surprised to read these complaints, my child has attended this school for 5 years and I can only say great things about this school. I love it and sad that it only goes up to 5th grade. The prinicpal and assistant principals have been nothing but available and ready to discuss any issues and yes sometimes things happen after all kids are kids, but I was met with rudeness from the top down. I feel great that my child attended this school, they recieved a wonderful education, in a safe and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2011

I must say that I am greatly disappointed with this school. The school and staff are unsupportive and care very little about the students. I say staff because i spoke to various individuals and they could care less. I pulled my child out of that school as you can imagine. The things i've seen and experienced were horrendous. I would never treat someone else's child the way i've seen teachers,security and principals treat students. They are unprepared, rude and need to go back to school for some more training on education, management and sensitivity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2011

My Child has attended this school since Kindergarten. The administrative staff are very unsupportive and defensive regarding parent complaints. They tend to sweep major issues under the rug. As a parent of smart male child, it seems that certain male teachers are intimidated of children who can think outside of the box. It has been my observation that children who have parents that advocate for them are labled from grade to grade. This is unfair and puts a damper on a children's opportunity of getting a fair education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

My son is in the Autistic Program and I think this is an excellent school. They taught my son how to use a computer. His speach therapist is great, she has a technique that she uses to help him sound out words that I think is awesome. It motivates him to want to speak. He has been trying to mimic mostly all the words that my husband and I are saying. I'm proud of him and especially grateful to all of his teachers and therapist. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Jamella Hall Sullivan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2006

Ms Joseph, the gifted program first grade teacher is amazing. just the right amount of toughness (which we all know is vital). the key is she really gets into the material which inspires the kids to do the same. she is running a 1st grade show that is closer to the level of 3rd grade and my son is loving it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2006

This school has a gifted program, regular program and a program for disabled students all in the same building. The building is modern and air conditioned. The gifted program can be demanind in its work load at times. There is no GYM. Children are given a 'movement' class in a 'multi-purpose'room. But I am dissapointed to find that many times they don't get any movement, only are sat down to watch videos. The school lunch leaves much to be desired. Some of the staff can be very caring and available to help. The current Parent Coordinator, Ronald Hartridge, is a breath of fresh air- his door is always open to help. This school also has a family night periodically where parents and students can come to play games together. The principal, Mary Ann Milano is caring and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

I think this is the best school in the world. I just graduated in the Gifted Program. I think everyone who attend this school will be challenged academically and physicaly. The reason they have these workshops is so that if you have a second child coming up it will be much easier for him/her to get in.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 15, 2004

There are some excellent teachers in this school; however, it seems to be luck of the draw who actually gets them. The school seems to look for involved parents who do not complain. If there is a complaint, the administrative staff is not very supportive. Some of the staff members would benefit from how to talk/deal with parents workshops.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Female52%
Male29%
African American37%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities0%
General population51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English42%
Non-migrant42%

Math

All Students39%
Female42%
Male35%
African American32%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities11%
General population46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English39%
Non-migrant39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Female40%
Male40%
African American36%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities5%
General population48%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English39%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant39%

Math

All Students36%
Female33%
Male39%
African American26%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities5%
General population44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant36%

Science

All Students94%
Female97%
Male90%
African American94%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities74%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Female42%
Male47%
African American44%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities0%
General population53%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant45%

Math

All Students42%
Female44%
Male40%
African American39%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities5%
General population51%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English42%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

English

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Global History and Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Integrated Algebra

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Living Environment

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrantn/a

U.S. History and Government

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 60% 19%
Hispanic 24% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 9%
White 7% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 257%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 55%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 405 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.8
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.4
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents35663%
Teachers49100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. VERONICA GOKA

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

650 Baychester Ave
Bronx, NY 10475
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 904-5550

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 176
Bronx, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT