Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

P.S. 160 Walt Disney

Public | K-5 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 16, 2012

This school is a nightmare My child was in the special Ed class for 1 year and he shared a desk with kindergarden kids and 1 st grade he was a 2 Nd grade student didn't Lear anything at all horrible in math reading everything the kids are out of control saw a few kids with black eyes from other kids this school should shut down principal never to be found when I had a problem I moved him to st Marys star of the sea grades are 85 and up and my heart is at peace no more stress
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

My daughter went to this school from K-3rd grade and I mostly felt the school was okay. My complaint is not so much with the school as it is for the NYC Dept. of Ed. She didn't talk until she was 4 and she was in the NY Inst. for Spec. Ed. on Astor Ave in the Bronx. From there, she graduated to PS160. Even though she began talking and exceling in school, every year at the IEP meeting they would only change her classification of needing special ed(ie. it went from speech to behavioral). In 2007, my family moved to SC where she is now in 7th grade. She is in the Gifted and Talented class, has never gotten under a 93% on her report card and is always on the honor roll. She plays the trombone for her schools' band. The difference? Smaller classes. 20 students has been the max in her classes and more help to the students are able to be given. My mom who worked as a paraprofessional in the NYC Bd. of Ed. always told me the schools would try to find something wrong with your child because special ed funding is much greater per child than regular ed. So glad I took her and my other 3 children out of that system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I see everything i keep trying to share gets erase but thats ok I save every email and comment i have left and i hope this won't be use against me for speaking about my own personal experience with this school ....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

My daughter attended PS 160 from 2nd to 5th grade and was the salutatorian for her graduating class. I must admit that PS 160 is a quality school, with quality faculty and quality environment that is conducive to learning PS 160 is an excellent school. conducive to learning. PS 160 is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

At P.S.160 My child daren perry has grow mentally and physically. I only have great things to say about the school and how it is being run. Good job Ms.Baker
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2006

The quality of academic programs for 2005-6 has really been lousy. Since the schools rating is so low their primary concerns are achieving a higher school rating; english and math. However, in doing so other classes like social studies and science are only given once a week. The Instrumental music program available is not fully utilized; class scheduling conflicts mean music classes are cancelled. Children are allowed out into the fenced in cement school yard at lunchtime but there is little for them to do- No playground/ or equipment. I don't believe parent involvement is welcomed since the change in new administration. I personally spoke with the principal regarding the low school rating; what might be done to help parents help they're children, her response; 'Didn't your child get promoted?' I believe great teachers are influence and inspired by their supervisors/ mentors. Unfortunately they are sorely lacking in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2005

My son has Cerebral Palsy, so the school was barrier free and wheel chair accessible. The faculty and staff are very caring toward the children. Most of the students are well behaved and for the others that are not displinary action is immediately taken. I enjoyed the school for the years that my son attended. I reccommend this school to other parents that have disabled children or mainstream children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 88% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 19%
Hispanic 38% 23%
White 3% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 9%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 8%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 14%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 60%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 3%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 126 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents9027%
Teachers36100%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LORI BAKER

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4140 Hutchnsn Rvr Pkwy E
Bronx, NY 10475
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 379-5951

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



P.S. 176
Bronx, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT