Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 182

Public | PK-5 | 957 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My son has been at this school since kindergarden and all of his teachers to date have been great. They care and that is very important especially if your child has special needs. The staff is helpful and know my son by name. Even the therapists are great. I can only speak about a couple of them, but they are attentive and genuinely care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2013

I am in the 5th grade at this school and i must say it's a bad school. The students have no respect for each other, the lunch room is always messy, and out of all the teachers, these are the only good ones (If your child behaves) : Ms. Alteiri, Ms. Galvez, Ms. Rosa, Ms. Katechis, Ms. Cerfida and Ms. Flood (who is retired, sadly). You have to watch out for Ms. Jacobs, Ms. Sementa, Ms. Quinn, Ms. Silkman, and Ms. Cosia


Posted August 18, 2010

My daughter attends the Gifted and Talented program at PS 182. The school overall is very good. I find the Principal and staff to be very involved in the children education. All students are known by the staff on a first name basis. I feel very secure each day I leave my daughter at the school. Overall, the school does a fine job, considering the limited parent involment. Parents who complain are usually the ones who are not involve in the PTA or does not volunteer at school functions. The school could be EXCELLENT with more parent involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2010

P.S182 is a good school. I use to go to this school for 2nd-5th and am now in 8th grade. The teachers are great and caring and will take any time to talk to kids about any problem they are having in or out of school. Educationally, the school can do better but you see them trying their best. I had many good memorys with all teachers, princibal, and friends . I do reccomend this school.


Posted July 19, 2010

My daughter is now in the third grade. The teachers are good and fair. The assistant principals don't seem to know what they are doing, and the principal herself is not an active principal. The staff all walk around like they are walking on egg shells. WHAT IS HAPPENING TO THIS SCHOOL?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

My child has been attending P.S. 182 for over two years and the school staff needs work, and not well organized. this ultimately hurts the overall learning of the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 21, 2008

My daughter has been in the Gifted and Talented class since 1st grade. She is now in 3rd grade. Her teachers have been wonderful. She has excelled in reading and also does well in her other subjects. The only problem I have is the Principal. She is detached from the parents and the PA also needs work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

I am a parent of two children that go to PS 182, I like the school and the teachers, My children have had loving and caring teacher who have help them to excel. So far i am very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2008

I had my child by four year and i dont has good experience with the principal and the school staff.the principal she never is helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

the principal is detached and doesnt reach out to parents and doesnt make herself availible
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

My child has been at this school for 3 years. They are not very organized and need younger teachers. These children need fresh and young teachers that have new ideas and can keep up with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2007

My experience at the school has not been a positive one since the beginning of the school year. At this time, I am still unhappy with the school, the staff, and the curriculum. For children who have no experience with class rules and expectations, the principal, shows no support. The teachers, some of them anyway, have no control and no experience on how to manage a classroom with different ranges or levels of behaviors. These teachers go through the curricullum whether or not the student is having dificulties of any type.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

I graduated from P.S. 182 in 2001 and this school is what made who i am today. with its strong values and hardwork made me be successful in high school its excellent school and im proud i went there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2007

What a horrible experience! My son fell through the cracks. No parental involvement. Could not even get a P.A. started.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2006

My opinion of this school will be premature since my child has been enrolled for a short time. My first impressions are this school has some caring teachers as well as a helpful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Overall it was a very good school. The extracurricular activities were very educational. There was always a lot of interaction between the parent , teachers and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2005

As a parent of a graduate of P.S. 182 I would like to take this opportunity to inform my community of the excellent education my daughter recieved. My dauther was reading from kindergarden due to the outstanding academic program they use. She managed to keep a high level in reading through to forth grade. The music program provides the children with an opportunity to express their individual culture, and their art program deserves an applause for its involvement in our child's creativity. My concern lays with the parental involvement. Parents need to work towards a longtime goal of reducing class size. This is a problem that limits the teacher's ability to teach and the child's prime time of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

151 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
38%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

117 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

138 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

139 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the elementary school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 64% 23%
Black 1 30% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 5% 9%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 14%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 283%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 42%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 320 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents26434%
Teachers5690%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. ANNE O'GRADY

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 Stickball Blvd
Bronx, NY 10473
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 828-6607

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 107
Bronx, NY


Ps 119
Bronx, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT