Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Bronx, NY

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 182 2

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
This school has great teachers. The wealth of experience and passion to be found heading the classrooms is nothing short of inspiring. However, these amazing teachers are not supported by the administration. You can see this in the downcast eyes and averted glances when you walk down the halls. Adding to this problem is the very real gulf that exists between the administration and the parents. It is something that really detracts from the draw that this school could have. The final part of this recipe for disaster is an ineffectual, unconcerned and unprofessional parent coordinator. I will not go into further detail about her. You must visit the school in order to fully grasp the impact that she has on the overall atmosphere of the building. It is unfortunate because this school has incredible teachers, concerned and active parents and happens to be the only school in District 8 that houses a Gifted and Talented program. Contrary to the overall theme of this review t's not all doom and gloom but be prepared to advocate and be an active participant in your child's education if you're considering this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ps 182 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at this school since kindergarden and all of his teachers to date have been great. They care and that is very important especially if your child has special needs. The staff is helpful and know my son by name. Even the therapists are great. I can only speak about a couple of them, but they are attentive and genuinely care.


Ps 182 2

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
I am in the 5th grade at this school and i must say it's a bad school. The students have no respect for each other, the lunch room is always messy, and out of all the teachers, these are the only good ones (If your child behaves) : Ms. Alteiri, Ms. Galvez, Ms. Rosa, Ms. Katechis, Ms. Cerfida and Ms. Flood (who is retired, sadly). You have to watch out for Ms. Jacobs, Ms. Sementa, Ms. Quinn, Ms. Silkman, and Ms. Cosia

Ps 182 3

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attends the Gifted and Talented program at PS 182. The school overall is very good. I find the Principal and staff to be very involved in the children education. All students are known by the staff on a first name basis. I feel very secure each day I leave my daughter at the school. Overall, the school does a fine job, considering the limited parent involment. Parents who complain are usually the ones who are not involve in the PTA or does not volunteer at school functions. The school could be EXCELLENT with more parent involvment.

Ps 182 4

Posted August 04, 2010
- a community member
P.S182 is a good school. I use to go to this school for 2nd-5th and am now in 8th grade. The teachers are great and caring and will take any time to talk to kids about any problem they are having in or out of school. Educationally, the school can do better but you see them trying their best. I had many good memorys with all teachers, princibal, and friends . I do reccomend this school.


Ps 182 2

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is now in the third grade. The teachers are good and fair. The assistant principals don't seem to know what they are doing, and the principal herself is not an active principal. The staff all walk around like they are walking on egg shells. WHAT IS HAPPENING TO THIS SCHOOL?

Ps 182 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
My child has been attending P.S. 182 for over two years and the school staff needs work, and not well organized. this ultimately hurts the overall learning of the students.

Ps 182 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Ps 182 5

Posted June 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 182 4

Posted December 21, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has been in the Gifted and Talented class since 1st grade. She is now in 3rd grade. Her teachers have been wonderful. She has excelled in reading and also does well in her other subjects. The only problem I have is the Principal. She is detached from the parents and the PA also needs work.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 182
601 Stickball Boulevard, Bronx, NY  10473
(718) 828-6607
Last modified Ps 182 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 182 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top