Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 975
 

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 182 3

Posted January 24, 2015
- a parent
The three stars that I give are for the teachers that try really hard under the circumstances. The school has over 1000 students when it was originally designed for 450. The overcrowding has a MAJOR impact on the quality of education obtained. It's time for a turnover as far as administration as far as the principal, assistant principals (except Ms. Oldak), Parent Coordinator, and some of the lunch aides. It's shameful that staff in the building have to be intimidated by their boss and walk on eggshells. There's only compromise with the principal when she's forced to. I feel that the chancellor and superintendent needs to make surprise visits instead of scheduled ones! They need to come when the kids are in the common areas - like when they're going to class in the morning and during the lunch periods!
6 people found this helpful

Ps 182 2

Posted November 07, 2014
- a parent
This school has great teachers. The wealth of experience and passion to be found heading the classrooms is nothing short of inspiring. However, these amazing teachers are not supported by the administration. You can see this in the downcast eyes and averted glances when you walk down the halls. Adding to this problem is the very real gulf that exists between the administration and the parents. It is something that really detracts from the draw that this school could have. The final part of this recipe for disaster is an ineffectual, unconcerned and unprofessional parent coordinator. I will not go into further detail about her. You must visit the school in order to fully grasp the impact that she has on the overall atmosphere of the building. It is unfortunate because this school has incredible teachers, concerned and active parents and happens to be the only school in District 8 that houses a Gifted and Talented program. Contrary to the overall theme of this review t's not all doom and gloom but be prepared to advocate and be an active participant in your child's education if you're considering this school.
6 people found this helpful


Ps 182 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at this school since kindergarden and all of his teachers to date have been great. They care and that is very important especially if your child has special needs. The staff is helpful and know my son by name. Even the therapists are great. I can only speak about a couple of them, but they are attentive and genuinely care.

Ps 182 2

Posted August 01, 2013
- a community member
I am in the 5th grade at this school and i must say it's a bad school. The students have no respect for each other, the lunch room is always messy, and out of all the teachers, these are the only good ones (If your child behaves) : Ms. Alteiri, Ms. Galvez, Ms. Rosa, Ms. Katechis, Ms. Cerfida and Ms. Flood (who is retired, sadly). You have to watch out for Ms. Jacobs, Ms. Sementa, Ms. Quinn, Ms. Silkman, and Ms. Cosia

Ps 182 3

Posted August 18, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attends the Gifted and Talented program at PS 182. The school overall is very good. I find the Principal and staff to be very involved in the children education. All students are known by the staff on a first name basis. I feel very secure each day I leave my daughter at the school. Overall, the school does a fine job, considering the limited parent involment. Parents who complain are usually the ones who are not involve in the PTA or does not volunteer at school functions. The school could be EXCELLENT with more parent involvment.


Ps 182 4

Posted August 04, 2010
- a community member
P.S182 is a good school. I use to go to this school for 2nd-5th and am now in 8th grade. The teachers are great and caring and will take any time to talk to kids about any problem they are having in or out of school. Educationally, the school can do better but you see them trying their best. I had many good memorys with all teachers, princibal, and friends . I do reccomend this school.

Ps 182 2

Posted July 19, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is now in the third grade. The teachers are good and fair. The assistant principals don't seem to know what they are doing, and the principal herself is not an active principal. The staff all walk around like they are walking on egg shells. WHAT IS HAPPENING TO THIS SCHOOL?

Ps 182 0
no rating

Posted January 11, 2010
- a parent
My child has been attending P.S. 182 for over two years and the school staff needs work, and not well organized. this ultimately hurts the overall learning of the students.


Ps 182 5

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 182 5

Posted June 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 182
601 Stickball Boulevard, Bronx, NY  10473
(718) 828-6607
Last modified Ps 182 is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 182 Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top