Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 1

Posted October 04, 2010
- a parent
From the very first day my son and I have had problems with this school. Bulling is a big problem here and nothing seems to be done about it. The school is located as part of an apartment building leaving very little space for classrooms or play yard for lunchtime. This school is tremendously overpopulated and teachers are overwhelmed. Most of the teachers have little patience and no control of the students. My son was bulled on a day to day basis and very much disliked school. We have since moved to a much better neighborhood and my son absolutely LOVES school and I get nothing but wonderful news on his daily reports.

Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia
no rating

Posted April 17, 2010
- a community member
this school has very dedicated teachers that make this community great!


Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 3

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
Yes, this school is way better than most of the public schools in the Bronx,however I feel that more advanced students do suffer from sheer boredom from having to wait for the others.There are no programs to challenge/motivate and the powers that be take so long to understand they have a gifted student,that quite often it takes the teacher half the school year to acknowledge what a parent had told them about their unique child in september.Unfortunately, the child pays the price and leans towards hating school, which undercuts the love for learning that the parent has worked so hard to encourage.When this is the best around by default, it's a sad state of affairs in the NYC education system.All attention goes to the good neighborhoods in Manhattan but hey,we're New Yorkers too!

Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 4

Posted June 12, 2007
- a parent
My daughter attends this school its not bad but they don't have the proper level placements for the children some kids are more advance then others but yet are placed in the same class I think that's not fare to the students a lot of advanced students are left in the mix and not challenged enough because the focused is on the kids who are not as advanced also they have few to none of physical activities that's important for the development of our children.

Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 5

Posted September 08, 2005
- a parent
I have 2 children attending I think it's one of the best public schools the Bronx has left.


Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 4

Posted September 04, 2005
- a parent
The teachers try very hard to help each child reach their own potential successes. The Principal has over 10 yrs as assist principal and I have great faith she will become a terrific principal given time.

Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 2

Posted February 11, 2005
- a parent
I have 1 son in 205 the teachers are wonderful,mostly young and energenic.This school is lacking in proper leadership!! They have a good english as a second language program we never used it.They do move students around quite a bit it seems like a rotating classroom.Students need to be tested to find out where they need to be not just put where they have room.Pre k -1st have no walls to the classrooms, very noisy enviroment for learning.Parents are not envolved other than a small group.We have decided to move to protect my son from this school.A very sad experience for my family.The principal is a joke and not well liked by staff or parents a shame!

Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
I have a child in this school and have not had any problems yet. I also attended this school when I was a child and has always been the best it can be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia
2475 Southern Boulevard, Bronx, NY  10458
(718) 584-6390
Last modified Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 205 Fiorello Laguardia Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top