Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 162 Lola Rodriguez De Tio

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 570 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2011

I don't like how articles gives I.S 162 a good look. This school is horrific the principal curses worst than anybody I have ever know and whenever somebody comes to review the school the principal has the teachers predetermine the questions that the teachers ask the students and gives the students the answers to those questions. The teachers hit and choke the students along with cursing at them. There are fights everyday and the staff just stand by and let it happen. What this school needs is to undercover be filmed by a student like myself for a whole day so that it can be uncovered for what it really is and get a surprise visit so nothing can be predetermined.


Posted October 13, 2009

i go to this school its the best social studies and science are the best sujects. the school is very clean
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2009

They have great activities and education i love the work the teacher give them they never disrespect me now that i put my child in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

i go to this school and it is great. i could always speak to the teachers about anything !i think this school is great, the teachers , the security , andd even the principle. always loved the people in this school because if you have a problem or something , they can always take out time for you . send your child to IS162 !!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2008

I lovee going tooo this schhol it was the bestttt years of my like. I was a student at the MACCS academy graduated on 2004.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

I graduated from I62 last year I had a great time because my teachers really prepared me for high school. I thank Ms Bradley who did the baby real care that was the best experience ever. Thanks to everyone at 162 i will finish high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2008

I go to this school.Its the best.I love all my teachers especially Mr.Olt
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2007

My daughter goes to this school she will be entering the 7th grade now in September. As a returning parent I would like to see more parent involvment. Also, more Disciplinary action taken over the students who do not wear uniform, Black and White. As a parent that observe I am very unhappy as to the things I have seen at IS162.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

I go to this schoo my teacher is M.s. Breyne. All thee teachers are good. We get 3 periods of ELA on Wednesdays and Thursdays. I would change the security.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

hey this is a graduate from I.S. 162, i graduate in 2004, and the teachers are great. Ms.Carty, Ms. Carr, Mr. Bascom and ect. If you want your child to go to a good school, then you could send them to this school. **** Clarissa Gonzalez**** Graduated from this school in 2004
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 7, 2004

I am graduate here at Is.162 in the year of 2004. that school is one of the best schools ever. The teachers are great, they are more than just teachers they are ur friends. We had alot of extra coricular activities, we had saturday school, senior trip day, movie trips, museum trips, labs. We even enterd into the TQNYC technology competition, which I took part in. We may not have one but we made to the semifinalist out of over 500 kids. Thanks to the great teachers we had there. Like Ms. Carr, Ms. Carty, Mr. Skeet, Mr. Bascom etc. We had the best graduation and prom ever. The students were given many chances. If ur looking for a goog school for ur kid choose Is.162. On the skale of 1-5 I would give a 10!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2004

My son goes to I.S. 162 and I just think that principles should be more involved in improving the overall scores of the school as well as the behavior and attitude of the students. They should make certain demands to improve expectations of students and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
3%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
18%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

163 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
18%

2011

 
 
21%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

164 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students3%
Female4%
Male2%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic2%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged3%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population4%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English4%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant3%

Math

All Students4%
Female3%
Male4%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic1%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population5%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English5%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant4%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students5%
Female5%
Male6%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic4%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities0%
General population7%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English6%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant5%

Math

All Students5%
Female3%
Male7%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic5%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged6%
Students with disabilities0%
General population7%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English6%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant5%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students9%
Female13%
Male8%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged9%
Not economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilities0%
General population12%
English language learners2%
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant9%

Math

All Students6%
Female5%
Male7%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic7%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged5%
Not economically disadvantaged11%
Students with disabilities3%
General population7%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English6%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant6%

Science

All Students33%
Female32%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities10%
General population37%
English language learners29%
Proficient in English34%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "B" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 74% 23%
Black 2 26% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 222%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 276%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 4%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 46%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 642 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
5.9
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.7
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.1
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents20551%
Students39991%
Teachers3895%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARYANN MANZOLILLO

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 St Anns Ave
Bronx, NY 10455
Phone: (718) 292-0880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps Is 224
Bronx, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT