Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jhs 22 Jordan L Mott

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 653 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 25, 2014

I have heard nothing good about this school and I am very scared to be going yo this school this fall,I have been homeschooled all my life. At least I only have to do one year . :(


Posted February 1, 2013

I was a student in the 90's here before mutiple schools came to join in the building. I can agree that this school is bad. I was a quiet student in class and had a fight every week in school. Some people said I was tough because of my fights but reality was....the local kids that join are bad kids. The teachers are good but something needs to be done about the way children behave. I almost got left back due to my suspension because of million times I fight but I always get 100 on my test so I can say I was smart to pass I guess. My tip for the young people that go here now.....speak up and let the teachers and principle know your being bullied. Eventually they would step up and make a change. If you need help with any homework due to the noise in class ask for personal help with teacher.


Posted January 13, 2013

I am now graduating this school, many say its bad i agree and disagree at the same time, this school may have bad ratings but most of these teachers care about the students a lot. Most of the teachers and staff are very supportive and listen to all your problems but the bad thing about this school are the kids. These kids are pretty tough, There are some fights but who doesn't have that in schools, sometimes its distracting having to listen to a kid curse during class while the teacher is trying to calm down the class, The assistant principles and deans of this school are pretty strict and make sure that you follow the procedures, In other words this school will work out or not for you if you try, I've seen so many smart people going to this school who are now going to Specialized High Schools, So this school isn't really all that bad for me it was alright at least i made friendships that will last forever.


Posted July 10, 2012

I just graduated from 5th grade and im coming to this school next year and everyone is telling is a bad school there is always a fight u get bullied kids dont feel safe and when i heard this i was scared to come to this school but this school seem so educated and supportive and i thought it was a really good school when i heard of it but when i heard the bad side of it im not sure i wanna come here


Posted June 28, 2012

i been in this school for 2 years and even before i got in they told me it was a bad school when i first got in in sixth grade it was the worst school experience of my life i got bullied many times while adults saw it happened id tell the teacher but they wouldn't take it seriously the school dos-int have control over kids and my old friends are so changed and greedy i have a group of friends but only trust one ive been trying to change schools the summer before getting in but still codint i didn't give back my application for some reason and imstuck im hoping this year i can transfer a verry bad expieriance but i learned alot about people how they change and you never finish knowing the person my grades went down since i steped in the school ishore wish i could turn back time and would of transferred before being in 6th grade if you are coming in this school don't let anybody step on you being yourself is not enough being a loner is the best choice you have or with that shy person in class there the ones who never let you down i am completley changed after that school but i liked the way i was before.


Posted January 23, 2012

Oneof the worst schools I have seen in a while. My daughter is in 7th grade and I am having a difficult time transferring her out of there. She has been beaten twice and grades have plumetted. Teachers have no control of the students and seems not to care much. Students are in complete control of the school. They should suspend a good 75 to 80 percent of the students and restart teaching all over. Bad school. How they got a 3 stars is beyond my immagination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

This school is a terrible place to work. The adminitrative staff, particularly the assistant principals, are unsupportive seem to enjoy watching teachers fail. More than half the people I worked with were fired or decided to leave while I was there.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2010

The R.A.V.E. program continues to do an incredible job in helping teachers and students achieve their goals.


Posted September 8, 2009

I think this school is very very poor and needs help the kids dont feel safe there or feel like they can get anything out of it but hurt this is one that need to be closed down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

This school isn't any better. Promises are made and not kept. I don't want my child returning to that school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

this school will make a difference in your life. great place to learn something new
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 18, 2009

well as a student i belive the school has improved alot during the years. i feel like are teachers and principal work hard for are education so some parents and teacher got it all wrong..
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2008

I pulled my child out of 22 at the end of last year, and found that this decision was long overdue. 22 suffers from an incompetent administration, and unnecessarily overtaxed teaching staff. Leaving 22 was the best choice for my child, and we are much happier at our new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

This school has a long way to go before it can be considered passable. While most of the teachers are dedicated, the administration is unsupportive and the school is currently understaffed and extremely disorganized. I would certainly never send my own kids to 22 and I look forward to finding a more supportive school in June.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 10, 2008

This school is improving. There is a French-English dual language program that is really great, however, some teachers still have difficulty managing their students.


Posted January 7, 2008

I attended this school as a 6th grader.when i went to 7th grade my mother transfered me.Now i know why she did it. but i still miss my friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2005

If you are looking for a 5-8 junior high school for your child...dont look to this one! Students are violent and unruly, classes are packed with an average of 27 or more students. There are going to be a lot of new, unexperienced teachers coming in who normally have no control over their classes. The principal means well but the assistant principals are inept and unsupportive of students and staff. I work there and teacher morale is very low and many have left or retired early. stay away!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 11, 2005

I am a former 8th grade student at cis 22 ,although it's not the best school of the bronx, it is improving.We know have a new principal at our school that is really is improving it.He as started by creating a student council which is involved with deciding over many important school issues.Student council started by making the students vote over what color uniform should be worn.Then most recently with the Valentines Day Dance,that hasn't been made for 2 years.He has also made alot of after school programs involving sports and school subjects.I am sure that if we keep this principal cis 22 will be one of bronx's top schools.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

Are you thinking about sending your child to this school? Don't. I was a teacher here up until this May. In September I had 44 students in my homeroom. But the end of the year they only managed to bring the roster down to 35, for a special needs class. There are no positive rewards for the students. The only reward this school provides is showing a movie in a hot, over crowded auditorium. There are no talent classes, no art classes, and gym is just time to run around. The administration is incapable of working with either children or adults. The saddest part is that the kids are forced to remain in the classroom all day. They are not allowed to do anything fun in this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2004

I was a teacher at this school and began my teaching career there 29 years ago. At one point in the 1970s we were able to get 135 students into special high schools. I am heatbroken at the apparent decline in academic standards. The school had a young, committed staff and the principal, William Green was known as a tough disciplinarian. Strict discipline, parental involvement, and high academic standards would restore this school to its former standing. We wrote grants to provide after-school tutoring sessions to prep students for the High School entrance exams. This kind of preparation is common in suburban communities and levels the playing field for all students. -Heartbroken Former Teacher
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

141 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
4%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
15%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

145 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

177 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
15%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

174 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
1%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

185 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
9%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
16%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

183 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
2%

2012

 
 
27%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

202 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 2 71% 23%
Black 1 26% 19%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 2% 9%
White 1 1% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 130%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 290%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 20%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 31%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 634 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
6.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.3
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents7412%
Students53582%
Teachers2547%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. EDGAR LIN

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

270 E 167th St
Bronx, NY 10456
Phone: (718) 681-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT