Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Helena School

Private | PK-8 | 57 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $130,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Some of the teachers are awesome but one particular teacher just doesn't get us students. She yells at you if you ask a question to someone. complains a lot when you need to use the bathroom. she claims we only use the bathroom during her class which is ridiculous and not true. we just ate breakfast and our food just disgusted.


Posted October 22, 2013

School would get 5 stars if the tyrant second grade teacher would come to her senses and realize that her excessive disciplinary action's are not warranted for minor fractions such as missing signatures.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

The second grade teacher need not to be teaching that grade. It seems she does not understand children that age. I agree with the other comment she is a dictator. The Principle needs to evaluate her teaching skill and do something about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2013

My children have been enrolled in St. Helena for a few years. It is one of the few schools in the area (if not the only) which offers full day 3 year old, Pre-k and kindergarten. Since enrolling my kids, I have become disappointed and am now looking to remove them. The good is that the teachers are available & reachable. Also unlike other private schools, it is affordable & although encouraged, fundraising is not mandatory. There is a breakfast & after school program which for working parents is a plus. However, the school has room for improvement. Music & language is not offered. Also, the afterschool program is run by teens who (with the exception of a couple) are immature. The program itself is unorganized. Also parent involvement is scarce & not encouraged. With the exception of only 1 teacher during the years, I have been generally pleased with the staff. Yet, the prinicipal is unapproachable. I find him to be more comfortable around the children than with the adults. Most importantly the class sizes are too large (some have close to 40) & the work is not challenging enough. I fear that St. H does not have the environment to properly prepare my children for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I think St Helena's school has a great academic program. Unfortunately the class size is to large (35+ children). When we first enrolled, there were two classes per grade. Then there were teacher layoffs and now there is one grade per class. The children had to suffer with the over crowdiness. There is only one math/science teacher for 6th - 8th grades. The principal has a open door policy, which is great and the teachers are available for early morning discussions. The guidance counselors and the Title 1 teachers are very supportive and offer great assistance. The afterschool program offers late pick up until 6:30, unfortunately there is not much guidance as the teen age counselors sit among themselves and don't interact with the kids. There needs to be more educational structure and adult supervision. (Homework assistance, roboitics team, math, reading or science clubs would be great) Also, there is no PTA where the parents could volunteer and assist with these programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2011

This school is a dissapointment . Really do not send your kids here.It is way to strict . If you want to see them happy send them somewhere else. They will have enough of it the first week .


Posted November 18, 2008

So far i am happy with the staff at St. Helena. I would like for them to improve is the way they help the kids in reading and math, my daughter is in 3rd grade and she does received help in math a subject that she is very good at but the reading she is not receiving the extra help and she does need the help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

To be fair there is always a positive and a negative story. What is important to me is the quality of education my Grandson received and the kind of person that St. Helena helped to develop. Where ever he goes people notice his education. At the present he is attending middle school in Florida and is doing excellent both academically and intellectually. Thanks to the Staff of St. Helena
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

i have my son in St. Helenas after removing him from a charter school and since he has been attending he has improved in all areas including his behavior, academically and socially. My wife and I love the school, the teachers and the staff. A gem in the Bronx!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

A great place for a child to learn about schoolwork and about being a good person.


Posted January 16, 2008

i am a graduate of st.helena's and i loved it it is like a family that you can always go back to


Posted October 19, 2007

This is my second year at St. Helena. I have two boys in this school. The first year was great. His teachers were excellent and I was able to foster a good working relationship with both. This academic year, well... it is the miss year for one of my children. I call the teacher to discuss my son's progress and never receive return calls. It is becoming frustrating early on and I even question the level of education skill set to properly teach this particular grade. My other son however is having a better experience except for one teacher. Class size wow! Terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

When I call the school I do not recieve a call back from the teacher with regards of my child's behavior.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2007

all of my four children have attended this school. I am very satisfied with their education and the personal touch that all of the teachers give. the school is safe and the children well behaved.the principal mr. meller is the best. monsignor derivan really cares about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

When Monsignor Mulcahy ran St. Helena Parish years ago, this was a school you could believe in and be proud of. Former principal Angela Deegan made a point of hiring bright, young, talented teachers and class sizes were kept small to ensure that students received as much individual attention as possible. When Father Derivan took over following Monsignor Mulcahy's untimely death, St. Helena became nothing more than a religiously affiliated babysitting service. Father Derivan and his band of lost boys, Rich Meller included, have driven St. Helena into the ground. Father Derivan is concerned about making money, and nothing more. He is willing to sacrifice paying for quality staff and overcrowding classrooms to pay for atrocious religions monuments and other frivolous expenditures.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2007

Well, what can I say about St. Helena that doesn't sound like someone paid me to do it. My son entered this school as someone who could not care less about education. I spoke to his teachers and Father Derivan about his attitude. because let's be real being a black boy in America, his only way out is education. They worked with me and my son and now he has a partial scholarship to All Hollows, and Mt. St. Michael. I know I could not have done this on my own. I now have a son that has made himself and myself very proud of him. I hope that he stays affiliated with St. Helena's. I believe that he will go very far in his long journey through life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

My child has been there for four (4) years. Each year it's different. Either you have a teacher that is pregnant and the kids have to be stuck with a substitute or you end up with a really devoted teacher. Needless to say this past school year my child was in a class that started out with 41 kids. They ended the year with 38 kids. This is a shame to have to pay over $3,600 for tuition with class sizes bigger than the public school system class size. Out of the whole school there are only 3 certified teachers. So again I say this is a shame you pay all this money for half the quality that you are expecting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

September 2007 will be my son's 2nd year attending this school, he started last September 2006 as a six grader. I truly believe that he has had a great school year experience and he has brought home plenty of passing grades exams. I know for a fact, that I as a proud parent made a great choose when I enrolled my son in this school. The after school program is also really great. If there are parents out there seeking for a good school and a great education, I truly recommend St. Helena School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2007

I went to St Helena from grades 1-8 and am now a in my 2nd year of High School.It was the best experience of my life.This is a profound school which faculty that really cares for the children.I myself got a full scholarship to Msgr Scanlan HS in the Bronx, Partial Scholarship to All Hollows HS and scored a 96 on the TACHs Test the Catholic School entrance exam and now attend Choate Rosemary Hall an accomplished private Boarding School all from what I learned in St Helenas.All the teachers are very qualified and the head priest is very strict both with children and parents which warrants alot of these bad reviews. He nows the best way to run the school which includes raising his voice but without father Derivan their would be no difference between St Helena and a public school.It has a vibrant Church affiliation.Email me with questions.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 1, 2007

My Daughter has been in St Helena for 4 years. She absolutely loves it. She has progressed so much. She had speech therapy for 2 years before going in to school and she was behind most kids her age. She has learned how to read and write beautifully. She does so well with religion and math. She is now t the same level as the rest of the kids her age. I am very happy with St. Helena.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 21%
Black 26% 21%
Asian 23% N/A
White 4% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Richard Meller
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2050 Benedict Avenue
Bronx, NY 10462
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 892-3234

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT