Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 415

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Helena School 3

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
Some of the teachers are awesome but one particular teacher just doesn't get us students. She yells at you if you ask a question to someone. complains a lot when you need to use the bathroom. she claims we only use the bathroom during her class which is ridiculous and not true. we just ate breakfast and our food just disgusted.

St Helena School 3

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
School would get 5 stars if the tyrant second grade teacher would come to her senses and realize that her excessive disciplinary action's are not warranted for minor fractions such as missing signatures.


St Helena School 3

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
The second grade teacher need not to be teaching that grade. It seems she does not understand children that age. I agree with the other comment she is a dictator. The Principle needs to evaluate her teaching skill and do something about it.

St Helena School 2

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
My children have been enrolled in St. Helena for a few years. It is one of the few schools in the area (if not the only) which offers full day 3 year old, Pre-k and kindergarten. Since enrolling my kids, I have become disappointed and am now looking to remove them. The good is that the teachers are available & reachable. Also unlike other private schools, it is affordable & although encouraged, fundraising is not mandatory. There is a breakfast & after school program which for working parents is a plus. However, the school has room for improvement. Music & language is not offered. Also, the afterschool program is run by teens who (with the exception of a couple) are immature. The program itself is unorganized. Also parent involvement is scarce & not encouraged. With the exception of only 1 teacher during the years, I have been generally pleased with the staff. Yet, the prinicipal is unapproachable. I find him to be more comfortable around the children than with the adults. Most importantly the class sizes are too large (some have close to 40) & the work is not challenging enough. I fear that St. H does not have the environment to properly prepare my children for high school.

St Helena School 4

Posted August 02, 2013
- a parent
I think St Helena's school has a great academic program. Unfortunately the class size is to large (35+ children). When we first enrolled, there were two classes per grade. Then there were teacher layoffs and now there is one grade per class. The children had to suffer with the over crowdiness. There is only one math/science teacher for 6th - 8th grades. The principal has a open door policy, which is great and the teachers are available for early morning discussions. The guidance counselors and the Title 1 teachers are very supportive and offer great assistance. The afterschool program offers late pick up until 6:30, unfortunately there is not much guidance as the teen age counselors sit among themselves and don't interact with the kids. There needs to be more educational structure and adult supervision. (Homework assistance, roboitics team, math, reading or science clubs would be great) Also, there is no PTA where the parents could volunteer and assist with these programs.


St Helena School 2

Posted December 20, 2011
- a community member
This school is a dissapointment . Really do not send your kids here.It is way to strict . If you want to see them happy send them somewhere else. They will have enough of it the first week .

St Helena School 5

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St Helena School 5

Posted August 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St Helena School 4

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
So far i am happy with the staff at St. Helena. I would like for them to improve is the way they help the kids in reading and math, my daughter is in 3rd grade and she does received help in math a subject that she is very good at but the reading she is not receiving the extra help and she does need the help.

St Helena School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Helena School
2050 Benedict Avenue, Bronx, NY  10462
(718) 892-3234
Last modified St Helena School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Helena School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top