Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
195 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Visitation School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
I would like to give a special thank you to Mr White for his wondeful and inspiring leadership under these trying times and Mrs Matos for loving our children so much! God bless you both and all the teachers,secretaries and staff of this blessed school!

Visitation School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
These teachers fight for their children and give much more than they sometimes have ( physically,mentally and monetarily ) to ensure the academic success of these children.


Visitation School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
I do feel sometimes that the homework becomes too much but understand that this is part of education now.

Visitation School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
I believe the school does but sometimes we the parents are the ones who easily give up on schools and our children. We are easy to judge and not proactive in our children's determination.

Visitation School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
There is zero tolerance for lack of respect,sharing amongst the kids. It is impossible to completely curtail bad blood between some children,but overall this is the environment.


Visitation School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
There are bimonthly campaigns requesting donations for the less privileged. There are requests for money,food and clothing for the poor.

Visitation School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
There is a disciplined environment. Honesty. And respect are part of the culture of the school.

Visitation School 5

Posted March 25, 2016
- a community member
I will admit that some of the past comments are accurate, but the school has made many changes for the better. It has a new principal who is engaged, compassionate and has an open door policy for all parents and children. There Are Also New PTA presidents who are engaging and keep parents updated on what is happening in the school. They also welcome new parents and suggestions. Teachers are great! My child has been in the school for 3 years and we plan to continue there until she graduates, God willing! Great school and many more exciting changes to come!


Visitation School 4

Posted June 26, 2014
- a parent
This school is great. They provide a well rounded, high level of academics. The teachers are wonderful and the Principal is very involved. They maintain a high level of discipline, as it should be, to keep our children safe and focused.

Visitation School 2

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
I was happy with th teachers from k-2nd grade. After that I learned my daughter was being bullied. 3rd gr. teacher justified it and said my child should learn to fit in. Teacherr stated, she's annoying because shes always hummimg songs under her breath...(???really) Most of the PTA is comprised of parents of students who have already graduated and they are very clickish. They do not share info other then asking for money. The school has no lunch program and the auditarium is the gym with chairs. The music teacher is the gym teacher. there is no early drop off, gates open at 8:20 children go in at 8:30. They should realize more mothers work these days. Oh excuse me they did start an early drop off program but of course you have to pay for it. For the money we pay, just not worth it. Transferring my child asap.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Visitation School
171 West 239th Street, Bronx, NY  10463
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (718) 543-2250
Last modified Visitation School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top