Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Gabriel Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 229 students

Our school is best known for the academic achievement of its students.

 
 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 8, 2011

This was a great school to go to when I was child. It was a tight community of parents and teachers that really cared about academic excellence. I graduated in a class of 22 children and most I had known since I was 6yrs old (and still keep in contact with today almost 20 years later). I know that some teachers are still there from when I attended SGS like Mr. McCarthy. He's probably the most dedicated teacher I've ever had.


Posted January 12, 2010

I can't say enough good things about the quality of this school. I have a child in kindergarten and another in the upper grades; they both just love the school. The older one consistently receives very top scores in standardized tests each year and this is completely due to the quality of the teaching. One small downside: as the neighborhood has gentrified, we have seen a growing number of 'helicopter' parents who are overinvolved with their kids' education and who unreasonably expect the school to adapt its curriculum and practices to their individual preferences. Those parents can be a drag to be around, but they're in the minority and I think you'll find them in every school in this neighborhood now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

This is the third year for my kid at this school.All I can say is good things,the Principal is excellent, very approachable and ready to listen.The office staff is also very dedicated and polite.The teachers are excellent in terms of quality of education.I would definately recommend this school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

The children get the best education and are safe in their surroundings.


Posted September 19, 2009

Excellent teachers, great principal, structured education and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

St. Gabriel School provides an excellent education, preparing students for the demands of high school. Beyond that, the nurturing environment and sense of community set the school apart from others in the area. We love being part of the St. Gabriel School family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

St. Gabriel's School is a wonderful school. The teachers are fantastic. They make learning fun. My children love going to school everyday. I thought my daughter would struggle in school as she is the youngest in the class, however, to my surprise, she is doing fabulously. Thanks to the wonderful teachers, she has an understanding of the work and is doing great. St. Gabriel's is a wonderful academic school and I am confident that my children are receiving the best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

St. Gabriels is not just a school it's a community! I have two girls, one who graduated last year and one in the second grade. St. Gabe's has been a second family to them. My oldest is attending a terrific high school and was so well prepared by the middle school teachers. The Principal is superb and is very dedicated to the children. The parents are friendly and supportive and I am very proud to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

St. Gabriel school's academics are second to none. My children look forward to going to school every day and are consistently inspired by the superb teachers. The faculty is dedicated and committed to giving their students the tools needed to become successful in high school and college. The principal fosters a nurturing and happy environment where the students feel welcome to express their views. Parents have the peace of mind knowing that their children are being given the best opportunity to succeed in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

I think the most positive thing about the school is the academics; it is quite rigorous and students go on to very good high schools. The least positive aspect is the culture among the parents, who tend to be cliquish, competitive and (inapproppriately) overinvolved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

The teachers are very tough and have high expectations and standards but only want the best for us . Im currently in grade 7 with Mrs. Maher , Shes Great . This school deserves a 8.8 - 9 rating . the curriculum is challenging yet helpful to the students because it forces them to think before answering which is a solid characteristic and what is expected in high school , I thinks this School is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2009

This is wonderful school, principal cares very much for students. My son is in 6th grade and you cant go wrong with those teachers. They are exellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Outstanding parochial school which offers a rigorous academic education and a warm nuturing environment. Ethnically and religiously diverse. Small student body that promotes comraderie among the upper and lower classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

I am a student in this school. The work is tough but it is soo worth it when you are passing all your classes with Mrs Maher, Mr McCarthy,and Ms.O'Beirne.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2008

As a former student, I'm surprised St.Gabe's has such rave reviews. Both the upper and lower grades were difficult- my lively spirit was repressed by textbook/talk-and-chalk teaching and rigid rules. My classmates and I excelled at standardized testing but did not have the skills to write a 3-paragraph essay until 7th grade. Additionally, we hardly ever went on field trips or received encouragement for our talents. There is also no PTA govt-some parents just take over, leaving others out. Overall, your child will be sound academically, but that's it. Go somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

I am a new parent this year to the school and currently have 2 children enrolled. My daughter Victoria (3rd grade) and my son Price (Kindergarten). Victoria was enrolled in a small Manhattan public school before we chose St. Gabriel. The transition for Victoria was seamless thanks to the wonderful staff and a caring Principle who took the time to ensure Victoria had a pleasant experience. Academically the school is great and a plus is the after-school program which is headed by yet another excellent staff member. You can't go wrong my sending yoour children to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

My daughter is just starting 2nd grade here; she is very happy at school, and we are very pleased with how much she's learning. Most of the teachers are very experienced and have been at the school for a long time. The quality of instruction is very good: the students in my daughter's class all performed very well on the national standardized tests last year and I believe many of the 8th grade graduates were accepted into some pretty competitive high schools. Tution is reasonable (compared to other private schools quite affordable. Families from the parish receive a substantial tuition discount.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I am fairly new to the school and already loved it since the first day we registered. The 3rd grade teacher is amazing and the principal is excellent, very friendly and approachable. The class sizes are great, just enough attention for the kids. I love it, or may i say we love it!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Can't say enough about the school. My child has been there for two years and is starting a third. The Principal is hands on and looks out for the best intrests of the children. The teachers are very dedicated!!!!!!!!!! There are many ways for parents to be involed within the HSA and outside of it also. I am so glad that my younger child will be able to experience the school from Pre k on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2007

My daughter just enrolled in January. The welcome she received from the principal, the staff and her teachers was wonderful. Academically, this school is far above others. I appreciate the extra help that the teachers have given my daughter during her struggle to acclimate to a new school. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 52%
Two or more races 20% N/A
Black 14% 21%
Hispanic 14% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Clubs
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Clubs
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:40 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Deborah D. Pitula
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (718) 796-2638

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Forensics club
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $14000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Fordham Preparatory School
St. Vincent Ferrer High School
Specialized Public High Schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

590 W 235th St
Bronx, NY 10463
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 548-0444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT