Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Clare School

Private | PK-8 | 379 students

Our school is best know for its excellence in education

 
 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $400,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 14, 2008

My grandaughter just started pre-k and has learned an enormouse amount of work and discipline. The Christmas show was excellent and love the learning through music program - I would like to see more of that - every class played an instrument - so far, so good - I would love to see a language being taught as early as kindergarten


Posted October 22, 2008

okay this school is great i ve been coming here for 9 years and i love it. The principal ah not that great like some of the parents said she leaves tthe school before where dismissed. I am on the basketball team there and is great other kids should be encouraged to join and if you dont make it just keep trying parents you should send your children here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2008

This school did not prepare my child for high school at all. Save your money and send him to a different school. There were barely any extracurriculars or foreign languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

I have been going to SCS for 10 years now and i love it so much!!!!!!! they have great teachers and a wonderful Principal( Ms.Desmond) i have made sooo many friends here and i love the teachers sooo much, its sad that i have Graduated this year and i will miss St. Clare's very Much!!!!! SCS was like a second home for me!!!!!! I will always belong to St.Clares!!!!!! - Cristina-
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2005

Academically, the school is average, but it is better than most of the schools in the Bronx. Extracurricular activities are sublime except that they do not exist - including any foreign language. The parents are quite involved, but most of them are concerned about non-educational issues - keep in mind that you deal with very honest, nice citizen, but no professionals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2004

I am new to the school, but not to the parish. I have been a member of the parish for 30 years. I feel very blessed that now at this time my children are attending the school. I hear the grumbles about the principal also. Some people can't handle change. I think change can be very beneficial. She seems to have the desire to do the best she can do for the children. That's enough for me. Time will tell. But for now my children and myself are very happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

There is a new principal for the school as well as many new teachers. No one is complaining about the teaching staff but there are many grumbles about the principal. Still all around a good education but now with more emphasis on discipline than with learning. Unfortunate. It had been such a nice place. Luckily for me, my child will be graduating soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 52%
Hispanic 16% 21%
Asian 10% N/A
Black 4% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Theresa A. Bivona
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Bowling
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public school

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Catholic high schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1911 Hone Ave
Bronx, NY 10461
Phone: (718) 892-4080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT