Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 1,430

4 stars
Based on 36 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cardinal Spellman High School 5

Posted November 05, 2014
- a student
This school has been great for me so far starting my freshman year...I would recommend this school to others..Keep up the good work !

Cardinal Spellman High School 4

Posted June 19, 2014
- a community member
I graduated from this school and it's been a wonderful 4 years. It's really hard not to make friends here. If you just cooperate, do the homework, participate, and study you'll do just fine. Some teachers will stay after school to help you with anything you don't understand. They have a lot of extracurricular activities and events. The lunch is supposed to be high quality so it's pretty expensive. Your parents can put money in your I.D's as another way to pay for your lunch. I wish the gym classes weren't so crowded though. Seniors, juniors, and freshmen use the gym at the same time so it gets really crowded in the locker room. One thing I wish I knew is that if you don't use a school lock for the girls locker room, the gym teacher breaks your lock and you have to pay for a new one. For boy's, I don't think they get lockers for gym.


Cardinal Spellman High School 3

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
Cardinal Spellman is a solid school. If a student does their homework, study for exams, and takes advantage of all of the extra curriculars, a student will do really well at this school. The teachers make it difficult for a student to fail as they give extra credit and find ways for students to bring up their grades if needed. There are 3 academic tracks: remedial (Basic); regular (Standard); and honors. Girls appear to do better @ Spellman, but boys can excel if they apply themselves. The sports teams could use new uniforms and warm ups (especially the boys basketball teams), but other than that the school is solid. If your child is studious, and you dont want them to go to public school, and you can afford the tuition, you or your child wont be disappointed in this school.

Cardinal Spellman High School 1

Posted April 03, 2014
- a student
Cardinal Spellman is horrible. I need to let you know what the teachers don't care and the students aren't in the right mind set when they get there. The standards are set to a low bar and the school can't be improved.
1 person found this helpful

Cardinal Spellman High School 5

Posted August 16, 2013
- a community member
I am applying to this school next year I have heard so many great things about the school


Cardinal Spellman High School 5

Posted September 01, 2012
- a student
The school is amazing! They do the most to make sure you succeed and are comfortable with the school, from Freshman year to Senior year! The school players are fabulous and put on Amazing plays. The best part is the Alumni are so active and are doing since graduating! Great School!

Cardinal Spellman High School 5

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
my son is in the 11th grade in Cardinal Spellman and I am so happy he is in this school. Great teachers and staff.

Cardinal Spellman High School 4

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is a senior at Cardinal Spellman HS. I too am very pleased with the education and the guideance that my daughter has gotten from all the faculty. This is my second child attending, my other daughter graduated in 2005 and is continuing her education at FIT. I also have an 8th grader this year that is also wanting to go to Spellman. As you can see this is Cardinal Spellman family. Keep up the good work.


Cardinal Spellman High School 5

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
My daughter is now a senior at Cardinal Spellman High School. I have been very pleased with her four years there. The help that her counsellor provided during the college process was well appreciated resulting in my daughter being accepted to all the schools she applied. Four years ago my daughter said she wanted to attend Cardinal Spellman I was a little hesitant, but I am so happy she chose to go there. Parents give Spellman a chance and you will not be disappointed.

Cardinal Spellman High School 5

Posted November 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cardinal Spellman High School
1 Cardinal Spellman Place, Bronx, NY  10466
(718) 881-8000
Last modified Cardinal Spellman High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Cardinal Spellman High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top