Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
368 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Theresa School 4

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter currently attends St. Theresa's and she excels in all her classes. She gets a very good education. The principal does not treat all the students equal. When my daughter started there she would say good morning to the principal every morning but the principal would act is if she is invisible. I would see the principal greet a number of kids one by one but when my daughter would be next she wouldn't say anything. My daughter ask me why she never says good morning back and i would just say to her do not say good morning anymore. I have heard that this happens to a number of kids. She should not be in education if you have that type of mind set. The teachers are great there. They challenge the kids.

St. Theresa School 4

Posted June 05, 2014
- a parent
My son is a student at this school since pre-k, honestly I am pleased with STS. He's now in 6th grade and the drive to excel is still there. The principal and staff are wonderful role models for these young students. Special thanks to Mrs. Sirabella, Mrs. Marchetti (retired), Mrs. Shanley and Mrs. Fitzgerald. I would recommend this school to anyone who may need to place their children. Keep up the Great Work STS!!!


St. Theresa School 1

Posted May 08, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school last year and it was a horrible experience for her. The staff at the main entrance of the school is not friendly at all to the children and due to this my child established a fear of being late to school. She also built up extreme anxiety and never wanted to go to school. This year she started a new school and had an amazing experience. She had the 2 most amazing teachers ever which she warmed up to instantly and built a strong bond with.

St. Theresa School 5

Posted December 03, 2013
- a parent
I love this school my son is going to st Thereasa from perk to now he is in 3 rd grade and I must say that teachers are so well organized

St. Theresa School 3

Posted February 19, 2013
- a parent
My child attended the prek program 2 years ago. I was very dissappointed with the teacher because I felt she was not equipped with the skills and strategies to teach 2-4 year olds. The academic part of the program was on par with other prek3 programs. However, the problem I had is with how the teacher dealt with social/emotional problems that arise in the classroom of 2-3 year olds. During the year I heard many silly complaints.The complaints I received ranged from my child crying, wanting to be near her, wanting to sit on her lap when she was teaching/ reading on the carpet, to complaining about my child wanting extra snacks. Not every 3 year old is an angel and you need many strategies to deal with all types of children. In my opinion, she made it known that my child was not her favorite. However, I found the teacher assistant to be great. She had a lot of patience and showed alot of love to my child. In addition to this, I also have great things to say about their morning program. My child was well looked at and loved spending time with the aides who gave him positive attention. The following year I put my child in a Christian school and I NEVER got a complaint.


St. Theresa School 5

Posted October 28, 2011
- a parent
St.Theresa is a great school and the Principal is a dedicated professional. I must disagree with the one of the postings, she is an administrator who leads our school well. I am lucky that my child attends St.Theresa School. Great teachers, wonderful principal and a happy educated child.

St. Theresa School 3

Posted October 14, 2011
- a parent
I've had my children here for several years and am disappointed in the school. First, the principal is a nice person but seems inept in handling disciplinary issues. There are no clear guidelines as to what is expected from children and as to the consequences that may occur if children do not abide by those guidelines. The parents appear to dictate the school policies as there is no clear administrative strength. Second, most of the teachers have taught there for many years and have numerous years of experience. This has a positive side but also a negative side. The negative being that they are older and do not seem as capable or energetic enough to handle the various behavioral issues that can arise in a classroom containing 30-35 children which is the norm.

St. Theresa School 5

Posted January 16, 2011
- a parent
I moved my daughter to this school in first grade. She previously attended St. Clare of Assisi. I have been nothing but pleased. The school not only has proven that they are strong in academics but they also have a wonderful sense of community and family. The principal and staff are all very involved and care about the students. I am so happy that we found this wonderful school to help us educate and raise our children. My only negative is that the class sizes can be big....however in the early grades there is a full time aide in the class. So far there have been no issues with the number of students and the amazing eduction she has received.


St. Theresa School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a parent
I am very happy with STS. My daughter loves this school and has done very well in all her academics. I applaud both the teachers and the principal for all their hard work and commitment to the students, to the school and to the community!

St. Theresa School 5

Posted April 19, 2010
- a parent
I love STS because there is so much caring and family fun in the school community!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Theresa School
2872 Saint Theresa Avenue, Bronx, NY  10461
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. (718) 792-3688
Last modified St. Theresa School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top