Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
229 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Please come and check out SBHS... "See for Yourself". Call us up for a tour of the school and a meeting with the Administration. www.StBarnabasHigh.com
February 01, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Barnabas High School 5

Posted July 11, 2016
- a parent
This is a nurting and accepting environment for all students. They offer advanced placement, honors, general education, and special education programs that inspire and enlighten students of all abilities. The teachers and staff go above and beyond for the girls. I've had a great experience with my daughter at Barnabas so far. The curricula is challenging and integrates technology and real-world experiences to enhance my daughter's educational experience. I would definitely recommend this school to anyone searching for a great school in a fantastic location.

St Barnabas High School 1

Posted March 19, 2016
- a parent
Do not send your child to this school! Saint Barnabas is a horrible school. It's all about the money and not the students. Teachers are disrespectful and bullies ! Also, the staff favorites those who donate money to the school. It's absolutely ridiculous what parents and student have to go through. The teachers there are unprofessional!


St Barnabas High School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
The Dean at this school is kind, understanding and very professional. He handled my situation with integrity.

St Barnabas High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
They speak very inappropriate to the girls, and show frustration more than encouragement. As an educator it is important that you are a role model, because girls at this age (teens) are very impressionable.

St Barnabas High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
The Faculty at this school, made my daughter feel like she was a troubled child, and thankfully I am a parent that does not back down on my daughter's well being or her education. I am a fully involved parent when it comes to my children. My daughter studied at a Catholic School all of her academic years and was an excellent student until she arrived to St. Barnabas.


St Barnabas High School 1

Posted December 01, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended this school. She was bullied by the teachers, administrators, and students. This is a very troubled school. The academics level is horrible, teachers do not have your daughter's best interest. Including saying inappropriate things and not making the girls feel encouraged about their school work. The math teacher fails the majority of the students, you'll see proof of this on parent/teacher night when you see the long line of parents. Check their school profile, and their SAT/ACT scores range. Once I transferred my daughter to another Catholic High School, (luckily right on time), she obtain first honors for 2 straight semesters, while in at St. Barnabas she was told she didn't have what it takes academically to move forward, and was on academic probation. If you value education, and a caring school environment for your daughter, this is not the school. Respectfully, Concerned Parent

St Barnabas High School 5

Posted September 09, 2015
- a community member
graduated in '01...best 4 years of my life. im definitely not a rhodes scholar but i had a pleasant time, nice people and area, fun events, great girls and the teachers were all pretty nice. no complaints here.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Please come and check out SBHS... "See for Yourself". Call us up for a tour of the school and a meeting with the Administration. www.StBarnabasHigh.com
Posted February 01, 2011


St Barnabas High School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
As a former graduate of Saint Barnabas High School, I can safely say it was my home away from home for 4 years. I enjoyed, no loved, the family feeling at Saint Barnabas. You knew everyone. From my first day to graduation, everybody was warm and welcoming. Other than that aspect, the curriculm was very informative, the dedicated teachers made learning fun! It was near impossible to fall asleep. Teachers werent hated or feared. Thanks for the memories.

St Barnabas High School 2

Posted June 28, 2009
- a student
The staff and the girls who attend the school are very kind and friendly however the acedemic department is my only concern. There is no challenge and the students are not encourage to attain their fullest potietial. Under no means am I a genius but I found my self bored and unhappy with the curiculum. Its a safe place and located in a nice quiet neighborhood but I wanted to leave based on the lack of challenge.

Nearby schools

St Barnabas High School
425 East 240th Street, Bronx, NY  10470
(718) 325-8800
Last modified St Barnabas High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top