Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
365 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

St. Barnabas Elementary School has a new administration, brought in during the summer of 2010, and quite frankly, the school is taking off! Enrollment is climing on a daily basis.
April 14, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Barnabas Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
Its been only 3 weeks into the school year but so far its been great

St. Barnabas Elementary School 1

Posted July 25, 2013
- a community member
I graduated in 2009 and attended Fordham Prep on a scholarship. I was not ready for high school at all. I did not talk properly and sounded like a fool with all those rich kids from Bronxville, Crestwood, Riverdale... Thankfully my freshman English teacher spent a lot of time helping me out, which is how I wrote this with such great grammar. In the end it all comes down to moving to a nicer neighborhood with better schools.


St. Barnabas Elementary School 3

Posted April 28, 2013
- a parent
My son has been in St Barnaba's for 5 consecutive years, and even though I love that he can learn about the Catholic faith, I have to agree that this school is OVERCROWED and that's a concern.. I'm looking into move to a town with a good school district ( pelham or eastchester), so I can pull him out of St Barnabas .It's still a better option than the failling schools district in the Bronx and Yonkers, but if you can afford to pay a little extra, look for a better school dsitrict and put your child in a public school.

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
St. Barnabas Elementary School has a new administration, brought in during the summer of 2010, and quite frankly, the school is taking off! Enrollment is climing on a daily basis.
Posted April 14, 2011

St. Barnabas Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
great school pre-k thru 4, then forget it... . students are talked down to and parents are ignored.. good luck keeping the doors open as enrollment is plumeting....


St. Barnabas Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 26, 2010
- a parent
i completely agree, parents are basically ignored by teachers, particularly in the upper grades. teachers in pre-k thru grade 4 do a much better job and are way kinder to the kids.

St. Barnabas Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 17, 2009
- a parent
Although I believe the school does a good job preparing kids academically - some classes are way overcrowded and I think they have a take it or leave it attitude whenever a parent addresses concerns regarding their child or offers a suggestion regarding some of their policies.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 4

Posted August 10, 2005
- a parent


St. Barnabas Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2005
- a student
I believe this school continues to expand in the areas that are needed according to new developes in the academic areas. My children have been well prepared academically so far and both my children and I feel the teachers are doing a great job.

St. Barnabas Elementary School 5

Posted August 09, 2004
- a parent
This is a great school to start your child in. They have very caring teachers who want your child to succeed and help in any way possible.

Nearby schools

St. Barnabas Elementary School
413 E 241st St, Bronx, NY  10470
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (718) 324-1088
Last modified St. Barnabas Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top