Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 314
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Athanasius School 1

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
St. Athanasius did not meet the they proclaim in their into its school system. My son started Kindergarten in fourth grade the teacher told me she don't understand his handwriting and they don't accept print form. they said "The No Bully System " and Many times they turn a blind eye when a lot incidents happened . The principal did not give us the support we needed but had no problem taking the money .they only think about money. This was the worst investment I ever made. As a result my son loosed the level , I removed my son from this school . But except to the few staff Members: Sister Sandy, Ms Perez ,Ms Madeo. THANK YOU:

St. Athanasius School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
This school has been a home away from home. Moving here from another state, St. A's has not only given my daughter a wonderful education and foundation for life, they have been there for us in ways that I am so grateful for. The extra- curricular activities provided that teach life skilsl and build self- esteem is priceless. They have become like family. My daughter loves St. Athanasius!! It is a pleasure to pay tuition each month. Every dollar is well spent!!


St. Athanasius School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a community member
The prk3 teacher is an excellent teacher. Warm and loving to all the children. She works well with parents and gives all the children the attention they need.

St. Athanasius School 5

Posted February 16, 2011
- a parent
my daughter has been attenting this school for about a few months and its her first time in school. i am impressed how she has learned so much and will keep my daughter there. she is in pre-k3 and this is an excellent school compared to public. and they help you to acheive and help your child what they lack in. its worth my hard working money. keep up the great work.

St. Athanasius School 1

Posted January 10, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. Athanasius School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
My daughters have been attending St. Athanasius for 7yrs and will be graduating next year. i'm very please with the education my children are getting. The kids and staff are a big family. i would defintely recommend.

St. Athanasius School 0
no rating

Posted November 07, 2009
- a parent
i myself being a former student,both my girls have gone there and if i had more kids..they'd go there too

St. Athanasius School 5

Posted August 09, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attends St. Athanasius School (entering 5th grade). I am extremely pleased with the education my daughter is receiving at this school. I love the fact that the principal knows each student by name (from Pre-K - 8th grade). I've never had any problems with the lack of supervision in the cafeteria as stated by another parent. I have; however, witnessed teachers yelling at kids acting out in the halls. I attended public school and I'm amazed at the level of education provided at St. Athanasius School. I would recommend St. Athanasius School to others.


St. Athanasius School 0
no rating

Posted April 03, 2009
- a parent
St. Athanasius did not meet the expectations they proclaim in their website of welcoming everyone into its school system. My son started Kindergarten in September 2008 and complained of the staffs' yelling to discipline him. There is a lack of supervision in the morning even though staff members 'patrol' the cafeteria. Some staff members have their children enrolled at the school. Many times they turn a blind eye when their kids misbehave. My son got hurt by a couple of his classmates and the principal refused to have a conference with the parents & children involved. I had to seek out the parents myself. The principal did not give us the support we needed but had no problem taking the money. This was the worst investment I ever made. As a result, I removed my son from this school in the middle of the year. But to the few staff MembersThatWereKindToMySonTHANKYOU:Ms.Quido,Mrs.Galvin,Mr.Solano,&theCafeteriaStaff.

St. Athanasius School 5

Posted June 16, 2008
- a parent
We were looking for a school that would carry out Christian values, was well structured, had caring teachers, had afterschool programs AND was affordable. We found St. Athanasius school in Sept. 2006. St. Athanasius school has everything and we are pleased. Ms. Kraft and all the teachers really care for the students, make themselves available to the families and really take the time to get to know each child. St Athanasius school unifies families with the child's education by bringing a child's best to strenghten their weaknesses and emphasizing that education starts at home. (Children currently attending Kindergarten and 4th grade -2008)

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Athanasius School
830 Southern Boulevard, Bronx, NY  10459
(718) 542-5161
Last modified St. Athanasius School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Athanasius School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top