Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8 | 173 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Bronx

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $383,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2011

I am the proud aunt of a 4th grader and both my sister and daughter graduated from Blessed Sacrament. I have watched the school transform from being a school where outdated textbooks, broken seats, and lack of school spirit and student incentives were the norm. Now, with Ms. Roman as principal, all that has changed. Our children are in safe, state-of-the-art classrooms, they are getting the academic intervention services they need, and there is an undeniable sense of school spirit throughout the school. Rating Blessed Sacrament a 5-star school is underrated. It deserves far more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

I am a proud parent of a graduate of Blessed Sacrament School and an attending 5th grader. This school and the dedication of all teachers has prepared my oldest daughter with significant academic background and knowledge that has helped her throughout High School and now in her second year of College.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

I am highly impressed with the way the school has upgraded with the new principal Ms. Roman. She has implemented sophisticated technology that will lead our children to a successful furture. The staff and teachers are professional and open to communication. This is and will always be one of the best schools to exist.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2011

As a former student I am happy to see my former teacher now be the principal and know my cousin will be lucky and fortunate to reap all the great attributes she has successfully implemented. I see BSS to be the Ivy League of catholic schools.


Posted September 20, 2011

I am a proud parent of a graduate of Blessed Sacrament and an attending 4th grader. This school has prepared my oldest son with the academic background necessary for him to succeed in High School. The teachers are dedicated. The principal has accomplished getting the school many new things like, smartboards and textbooks. Overall, Blessed Sacrament is committed to the students and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2011

I have been a part of Blessed Sacrament Parish for many years. The current administration has made every effort to improve the school in all areas. In the past two years the students have received new textbooks, desks/chairs, and access to new technology.The school offers extra curricular activities such as technology Club, School Band, Children's choir, and an Art club There are still some room for improvement. More parent involvement is needed to benefit the school. Over all I would recommend Blessed Sacrament School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2011

I thought that changing my kids from public school to this catholic school things were going to be better. There are some great teachers here with the exception of some real bad apples who discourage the children and parents. The principal's main focus is authority and fundraising. what a shame. The school has no spirit or extra-curricular activities. The school is clean and well maintained in comparison to others. clean bathrooms, hallways and classrooms. The school has potential to excell, but with the principal and other unapproachable staff members, the rest suffers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

I am a parent of a 6th grader attending Blessed Sacrament. Yes there are many students to a class room. I am not to thrilled with the idea but there isnt much that can be done. I am happy that this year they were offering a summer prep class. I enrolled my son and he is benefiting from it. The school does offer remedial classes in Math and reading and writing. I would like it if they would offer the classes after school as oppse to pulling the students out of class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Both my children have attended this school since Kindergarten. It has gone from one of the best schools to one that I am extremely disheartened with. The children are cramped 30+ in a classroom. The only good thing that I can think of is the extra reading and math classes for those kids who need the extra help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

its not bad but it isnt the best either. the best things about it were special classes for reading and math, art classes, and the spanish. other than that it wasnt really great. i entered high school not knowing how to write an essay.


Posted September 9, 2008

There used to be two of every grade but now there is only one. There is no music and no computer classes. More than 30 students to a class seems to be the norm. They do have special classes for reading and math so that's a plus.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 21%
Black 29% 21%
Asian 12% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Herminia M. Roman
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of New York
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1160 Beach Ave
Bronx, NY 10472
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 892-3214

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Ps 119
Bronx, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT