Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 1,138
 

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Riverdale Country School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
My husband and I love this school! Our son is in the elementary school and we have found that his teachers (current and past) all know him very well and constantly think of fun ways to challenge him when designing their curriculum. I don't feel like the kids are forced to stringently adhere to the Riverdale curriculum but that the curriculum is flexible enough to adapt to their interests. I've been nothing but incredibly impressed with the level of instruction and commitment to the kids in this school, and that is high praise as I myself have been a teacher for a number of years.

Riverdale Country School 5

Posted July 20, 2012
- a community member
I had the opportunity and pleasure of attending Riverdale throughout middle school and high school.The school is phenomenal and offers a comprehensive liberal arts education, as well as countless extra curricular activities and many sports opportunities. Quite a few of the teachers have PhD's in their disciplines.The beautiful campus setting is in a category of its own! Yes you have to work hard and stay motivated to do well, as the curriculum is rigorous and many of the students are talented, but you are guaranteed a great education and will be very well prepared for college. Ouside help is always available if one should need it and students are always encouraged to ask questions. I still keep in touch with my teachers! The big downside is the sky high tuition rate as of today, close to that of IVY league schools. Yet if you can manage it, it's one of the greatest gifts that you can give to your children.


Riverdale Country School 3

Posted June 22, 2010
- a community member
I'm a student here but i just seem to don't fit in. You have to strive to be smartest here, and if your not, you don't fit in. The sports are also not good, AT ALL, because they put more emphasis on academics and the only semi-good sports is tennis. Go figure. Rich kids and tennis. I couldn't wait to get out of this school and move on to a real campus life. You do get accepted to many major and ivy league colleges, don't get me wrong. I was accepted to Columbia, Brown, Princeton, and NYU but i chose none of them. I went to Syracuse University to get a taste of the real feel of campus life and absolutely thriving sports machine over there. MAKE SURE YOUR KIDS WANT TO GO, AND YOUR NOT FORCING THEM to go to riverdale

Riverdale Country School 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Riverdale Country School 5

Posted May 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Riverdale Country School 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Riverdale Country School 0
no rating

Posted February 18, 2009
- a parent
My son went for 13 years and loved it; wonderful education and environment.

Riverdale Country School 4

Posted October 17, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Riverdale Country School 5

Posted July 30, 2008
- a student
This school is awesome! When I came here 4 years ago I felt alone but the students and faculty welcomed me. I have friends and their are no clicks. It is great because if someone does something not wright the teachers don't scream at you they just talk about it in a ' care meeting' with you. They have a big field, tennis courts, volley ball courts, and a gym.

Riverdale Country School 5

Posted May 19, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverdale Country School
5250 Fieldston Road, Bronx, NY  10471
(718) 519-2768
Last modified Riverdale Country School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Riverdale Country School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top