Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 390
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
About half the faculty has advanced degrees and could be teaching at colleges, but they choose to dedicate themselves to secondary education. The curriculum is demanding. The emphasis is not on "college prep" but rather on the intrinsic value of the high school curriculum. The faculty and facilities are uniformly excellent from science to the performing arts. Despite the school's disdain for competition and rote learning, its college acceptances regularly surpass those of its peer schools.

Fieldston Middle School 4

Posted November 09, 2013
- a community member
Academically this school is light years beyond any other school. You will never find teachers as worldly and as dedicated to ensuring their students thrive. I am so thankful for my Fieldston education, it has opened so many doors for me. However, as a commuter student, socially it was very challenging. I spoke to very few people after being was bullied all throughout middle school.


Fieldston Middle School 1

Posted July 01, 2012
- a parent
my son hated this school! The school only asks for money all the time- people bullied other people and the curriculum was at least 1 year behind what they should be learning. Luckily we moved him somewhere else. Don't waste your money here!

Fieldston Middle School 2

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
If I had it to do all over again, I would not have sent my child to this school. The academics have gone down hill, as the school tries to become more and more progressive. They currently don't have finals in any class in HS, instead they make posters -- even in science classes. I don't consider this to be a rigorous "college prep" school anymore.

Fieldston Middle School 1

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
Liberal and atheistic and bery expensive-the quality of education here has gone down greatly over the years and the teachers are burned out,


Fieldston Middle School
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
The school likes to call itself 'progressive,' but it's not. And that's just fine! I like the school the way it is. The school also has a reputation for hippie-artsy-drugsy-ness but it IS very strong in academics! It also makes sure that it meets the students needs ex:. 4 different levels of math, many language choices, etc.

Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted March 25, 2009
- a student
I graduated last year from Fieldston, having attended since kindergarten at Ethical Culture. I cannot express how grateful I am to have received an education there, as I feel that I was not only nurtured as a student but as a thinker, and generally fostered an interest in, what I can only assume will be lifelong learning. Fieldston really allowed me to find my niche with its fantastic art department, as well as teachers who can only be described as magnificent. Fieldston combines the incredible academics of Horace Mann with an attention to developing a person as a whole, rather than someone whose only passion in life is entrance to an Ivy League university. I could probably write for hours about my love for Fieldston--I can't recommend it enough.

Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted March 10, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a recent graduate of Fieldston high school. She received a first rate education there, but also flourished there socially, athletically and artistically. Fieldston offers a wealth of opportunities beyond the classroom with a gorgeous campus that includes state of the art athletic facilities and performance/visual art spaces. Academics are intense, not so much due to the workload but to the expectations of the teachers who push their students to think. Teachers are accessible and are more than willing to work on independent projects with students as well as provide extra help. Students are supportive of one another and there is a collegial atmosphere. It is a rigorous place, and students are expected to rise to the challenge. Students here are very well prepared for college, and the college counseling is excellent and absolutely top notch.


Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted December 26, 2008
- a student
Though many would beg to differ because of it's liberalism, Fieldston in under-ratedly the most rigorous of the 'ivy league' high schools. It demands an incredible work load from all of its students not to mention the intensive classes move at a pace more rapid then the majority of the other schools such as Trinity's honors classes. All this rigor is done in an environment focused on student leadership and world/ self awareness. The emphasis is on individual motivation and learning rather than grades or test scores, as is evident by the abolishment of AP's withstanding a curriculum that provides classes that are equally if not more advance then those adhering to that of the AP curriculum. This also allows teachers, many of whom have PHDS to teach to their areas of expertise rather than teaching to a test.

Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted January 02, 2006
- a parent
Academically rigorous; but teachers really teach and care about student progress. Many teachers are world class. Class sizes are very small; programs are very individualized. Writing is emphasized. Exceptionally good theater and music programs. Diverse for a new york private school and diverse students are made very welcome.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fieldston Middle School
3901 Fieldston Road, Bronx, NY  10471
(718) 329-7333
Last modified Fieldston Middle School is a Private school that serves grades 6-8
Fieldston Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top