Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Private
Bronx, NY
Students enrolled: 390

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted February 28, 2014
- a parent
About half the faculty has advanced degrees and could be teaching at colleges, but they choose to dedicate themselves to secondary education. The curriculum is demanding. The emphasis is not on "college prep" but rather on the intrinsic value of the high school curriculum. The faculty and facilities are uniformly excellent from science to the performing arts. Despite the school's disdain for competition and rote learning, its college acceptances regularly surpass those of its peer schools.

Fieldston Middle School 4

Posted November 09, 2013
- a community member
Academically this school is light years beyond any other school. You will never find teachers as worldly and as dedicated to ensuring their students thrive. I am so thankful for my Fieldston education, it has opened so many doors for me. However, as a commuter student, socially it was very challenging. I spoke to very few people after being was bullied all throughout middle school.


Fieldston Middle School 1

Posted July 01, 2012
- a parent
my son hated this school! The school only asks for money all the time- people bullied other people and the curriculum was at least 1 year behind what they should be learning. Luckily we moved him somewhere else. Don't waste your money here!

Fieldston Middle School 2

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
If I had it to do all over again, I would not have sent my child to this school. The academics have gone down hill, as the school tries to become more and more progressive. They currently don't have finals in any class in HS, instead they make posters -- even in science classes. I don't consider this to be a rigorous "college prep" school anymore.

Fieldston Middle School 1

Posted November 17, 2011
- a parent
Liberal and atheistic and bery expensive-the quality of education here has gone down greatly over the years and the teachers are burned out,


Fieldston Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 13, 2010
- a student
The school likes to call itself 'progressive,' but it's not. And that's just fine! I like the school the way it is. The school also has a reputation for hippie-artsy-drugsy-ness but it IS very strong in academics! It also makes sure that it meets the students needs ex:. 4 different levels of math, many language choices, etc.

Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fieldston Middle School 5

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fieldston Middle School
3901 Fieldston Road, Bronx, NY  10471
(718) 329-7333
Last modified Fieldston Middle School is a Private school that serves grades 6-8
Fieldston Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top